Architecture Research

When researching a building, architectural form, construction method, or concept, start by structuring your research question into the following terms:

Building Name
Architect and/or Firm's Name
Building Type
Style
Construction Methods
Location
Date

Architectural Precedents

Architectural precedents are the study of existing buildings or projects. Precedents can be useful references, examples of how to solve a problem or inspiration for new designs!

Architecture precedents are usually chosen for their quality of architecture and innovation. By studying and analyzing these precedents, architects gain valuable insights into principles, strategies, and ideas that shape the built environment.

Benjamin Dombar & Associates (American architectural firm, contemporary) architect. Residence for Mr. & Mrs. Steven M. Leiter; Perspective. https://library.artstor.org/asset/27651226.

August Hermes & Sons inc.. Grady Realty; Floor plans and Elevations. https://library.artstor.org/asset/27651322.

72-80 C.E.. Colosseum (Flavian Amphitheater) [L] section; [R] elevation. https://library.artstor.org/asset/KOHL_HISTORY_1039765293.

Gaetano Pesce, (Artist), Italian, born 1939. Drawing date: 1974-77, Project date: 1974-77. Chiesa per l'isolamento, project New York (Manhattan), New York Longitudinal section. Architectural Drawings. Place: Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.). https://library.artstor.org/asset/MOMA_12770007.

Zaha Hadid, (Artist), British, born Iraq, 1950. Drawing date: 1982-83, Project date: 1982-83. Parc de la Villette, project Paris, France Car Park. Architectural Drawings. Place: Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.). https://library.artstor.org/asset/MOMA_10490004.

Alexander, James. architect. June 6, 1969. Mr. and Mrs. James M. Alexander Jr. Residence; East and North Elevations. https://library.artstor.org/asset/27651427.

The Cooper Union Library's architecture periodical collection is available for browsing on the mezzanine. Check-in with the circulation desk for assistance on the spiral staircase!

When searching the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, refer to the library's catalog for the holdings in the Cooper Union Library.

AAA: Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The issues are presented as full-color page images; detailed article-level indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

GA Document by Yukio Futagawa. Tokyo : A.D.A. Edita 1980-
GA Document presents the finest in international design, focusing on architecture that expresses our time and striving to record the history of contemporary architecture. International scholars and critics provide insightful texts to further inform the reader of the most up-to-date ideas and events in the profession.
Casabella by Domus, Milano, 1928
A prestigious expression of architectural culture since 1928, Casabella is a point of reference for architects across the world, engaging them every month in debates about contemporary architecture issues and how architectural culture is changing. Ideas, projects, trends, photographs, plans, historical documents, critical essays.
Japan Architect by Tokyo : Shinkenchiku-Sha c1959-
The Japan Architect was first published in June 1956 and was the only English language periodical that introduced Japanese architecture to an overseas audience. Today’s JA showcases contemporary Japanese architecture with in-depth commentary on the theoretical history and context of the projects. The magazine surveys the country’s diverse, ever-changing architectural scene, identifies important trends to convey to a wider audience outside Japan, takes up current, compelling issues and considers the latest architectural trends.

New York City Department of Records
the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 1.6 million images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, documents, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time.
Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library
Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library’s JSTOR collections highlight materials from our three special collections, Art Properties, Classics (Rare Books), and Drawings & Archives, including our Frank Lloyd Wright archival collections.
Historic Illustrations of Art & Architecture
The Minneapolis College of Art and Design's collection includes engraved renderings of buildings from the history of western architecture from ancient through medieval times — ground plans, elevations, sections, interior and exterior views, and details of iconic structures like the Parthenon, St. Mark’s Basilica, and the cathedral at Pisa.
Green New Deal Superstudio
A complete archive of submissions -- The Green New Deal Superstudio was a joint effort led by the Landscape Architecture Foundation in association with the Weitzman School of Design McHarg Center, the Center for Resilient Cities and Landscapes, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), and the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA).
Avery/GSAPP Architectural Plans and Sections
Graduate School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation at Columbia University (GSAPP) and Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library's collection of more than 20,000 images of architectural plans and sections and related materials,
Architecture Drawings and Archives (University of Cincinnati)
The Design, Architecture, Art and Planning Library has a large collection of architectural drawings and archives curated by professor emeritus Patrick Snadon and the head librarian Elizabeth Meyer. The majority of the collection is related to Modernist architecture in the Greater Cincinnati area.

Check out the JSTOR Digital Library Collection for more images!

Library Stack
Library Stack is a lending library and media archive for new digital materials across the art, architecture, design, philosophy, media studies, moving image, sound and visual culture fields. The collection includes eBooks, podcasts, journals, experimental fonts, software, exhibition materials, and artist writings that are not indexed in other databases or catalogs. Library Stack is also a publisher of its own eBooks, essays, videos and digital ephemera.

Also, check out the eBooks on Project Muse and DeGuyter!

Atlas of Digital Architecture by Ludger Hovestadt (Editor); Urs Hirschberg (Editor); Oliver Fritz (Editor)
ISBN: 9783035620115
Digital technology and architecture have become inseparable, with new approaches and methodologies not just affecting the workflows and practice of architects but shaping the very character of architecture. This compendious work offers a wide-ranging orientation to the new landscape with its opportunities, its challenges, and its vast potential. Contributing Editors: Ludger Hovestadt, Urs Hirschberg, Oliver Fritz Contributors: Diana Alvarez-Marin, Jakob Beetz, André Borrmann, Petra von Both, Harald Gatermann, Marco Hemmerling, Ursula Kirschner, Reinhard König, Dominik Lengyel, Bob Martens, Frank Petzold, Sven Pfeiffer, Miro Roman, Kay Römer, Hans Sachs, Philipp Schaerer, Sven Schneider, Odilo Schoch, Milena Stavric, Peter Zeile, Nikolaus Zieske Writer: Sebastian Michael atlasofdigitalarchitecture.com
Spaces of Intensity by Claus Käpplinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9783035620429
Publication Date: 2020-10-12
The focus of the Hungarian architecture practice, 3h architects, which was founded in 1994 by Katalin Csillag and Zsolt Gunther, is on the sensitive transformation of urban spaces and historic buildings. They set spaces with great intensity and complexity against a world that seems incomprehensible, often linking them with interrupted strands of history and creating unmistakable space effects using daylight and artificial lighting. Their work covers offices, housing and educational buildings, as well as castles and churches, and has already attracted a number of awards. The monograph documents nine completed and five not-yet-completed buildings. The essays by various authors focus on the practice's key interests in the context of Hungary's architectural culture: space and light, typology, context, and ornament
Modern Construction Case Studies by Andrew Watts
ISBN: 9783035617795
Publication Date: 2019-06-17
Modern Construction Case Studies behandelt die Schnittstelle zwischen Fassade, Baukonstruktion und Gebäudetechnik, dargestellt an 12 Projekten von Newtecnic. Der Autor vergleicht Fassadentechnologien, insbesondere ihre Schnittstellen zu Konstruktion und technischer Gebäudeausstattung, in komplexen Projekten und gibt somit wertvolle Einblicke in den Entwurfsprozess. Die in den Gebäudehüllen eingesetzte Technologie wird unter Berücksichtigung von jeweils einem der drei Aspekte: Geometrie, Konstruktion und Energie, beschrieben. In der Analyse werden die konstruktive und haustechnische Aspekte der 12 Fallstudien miteinander vergleichbar. Das Buch zeigt typische, repräsentative Anwendungen und ermöglicht so ein vertieftes Verständnis von der Wirkungsweise der jeweiligen Gebäudehüllen-Technologie.
Mid-Century Modernism and the American Body by Kristina Wilson
ISBN: 9780691213491
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
The first investigation of how race and gender shaped the presentation and marketing of Modernist decor in postwar America In the world of interior design, mid-century Modernism has left an indelible mark still seen and felt today in countless open-concept floor plans and spare, geometric furnishings. Yet despite our continued fascination, we rarely consider how this iconic design sensibility was marketed to the diverse audiences of its era. Examining advice manuals, advertisements in Life and Ebony, furniture, art, and more, Mid-Century Modernism and the American Body offers a powerful new look at how codes of race, gender, and identity influenced--and were influenced by--Modern design and shaped its presentation to consumers. Taking us to the booming suburban landscape of postwar America, Kristina Wilson demonstrates that the ideals defined by popular Modernist furnishings were far from neutral or race-blind. Advertisers offered this aesthetic to White audiences as a solution for keeping dirt and outsiders at bay, an approach that reinforced middle-class White privilege. By contrast, media arenas such as Ebony magazine presented African American readers with an image of Modernism as a style of comfort, security, and social confidence. Wilson shows how etiquette and home decorating manuals served to control women by associating them with the domestic sphere, and she considers how furniture by George Nelson and Charles and Ray Eames, as well as smaller-scale decorative accessories, empowered some users, even while constraining others. A striking counter-narrative to conventional histories of design, Mid-Century Modernism and the American Body unveils fresh perspectives on one of the most distinctive movements in American visual culture.
A City Is Not a Computer by Shannon Mattern
ISBN: 9780691226750
Publication Date: 2021-08-10
A bold reassessment of "smart cities" that reveals what is lost when we conceive of our urban spaces as computers Computational models of urbanism--smart cities that use data-driven planning and algorithmic administration--promise to deliver new urban efficiencies and conveniences. Yet these models limit our understanding of what we can know about a city. A City Is Not a Computer reveals how cities encompass myriad forms of local and indigenous intelligences and knowledge institutions, arguing that these resources are a vital supplement and corrective to increasingly prevalent algorithmic models. Shannon Mattern begins by examining the ethical and ontological implications of urban technologies and computational models, discussing how they shape and in many cases profoundly limit our engagement with cities. She looks at the methods and underlying assumptions of data-driven urbanism, and demonstrates how the "city-as-computer" metaphor, which undergirds much of today's urban policy and design, reduces place-based knowledge to information processing. Mattern then imagines how we might sustain institutions and infrastructures that constitute more diverse, open, inclusive urban forms. She shows how the public library functions as a steward of urban intelligence, and describes the scales of upkeep needed to sustain a city's many moving parts, from spinning hard drives to bridge repairs. Incorporating insights from urban studies, data science, and media and information studies, A City Is Not a Computer offers a visionary new approach to urban planning and design.
Food Urbanism by Craig Verzone; Cristina Woods
ISBN: 9783035615678
Publication Date: 2021-07-05
Die Landwirtschaft kehrt in neuer Gestalt in die Städte zurück. Wo findet sie hier Räume und wie kann sie das städtische Leben mitprägen? Die Motivation ist vielschichtig: Aufwertung städtischer Grünräume, Begegnung mit der Natur, Biodiversität - aber auch die Suche nach Zukunftsmodellen für eine nachhaltige Nahrungsmittelproduktion. Food Urbanism ist ein durchdachtes Entwurfs- und Planungsinstrument, das Typologien, Werkzeuge, Evaluierungsmethoden und Strategien vorstellt und praktische Anwendungsmethoden in der Stadt- und Landschaftsplanung zeigt. Die zahlreichen Projekte - in verschiedenen Maßstäben von groß zu klein - führen anschaulich vor Augen, wie Nahrungsproduktion die Lebensqualität im städtischen Raum verbessern kann.

Material Connexion
Information on materials and processes, including polymers, cement-based materials, glass, metals, ceramics, natural materials, and carbon-based materials. All the materials are juried into the database by a panel of material specialists and knowledgeable professionals.
Kinney Block
These tiles are made with 100% concrete. The tiles also contain 10% pre consumer recycled content. This high strength, high durability product is made by mixing and pouring into urethane molds in various standards shapes, and they are all formed and demolded by hand.
ECO⁺™ AB-COF
This masterbatch is designed to make polyolefin plastics biodegradable. It is composed of 80% ECO⁺™ and 20% coffee husk. ECO⁺™ is a proprietary additive that contains oleophilic, or oil-eating, bacteria.
Aluminum Expanded Metal TYPE FM 1900
Rust- and corrosion-resistant expanded aluminum façade sheet, in the design of a woven mesh. The metal is composed of 99% aluminum, <0.95% silicon and iron, <0.2% copper, <0.1% zinc, <0.5% manganese, and <0.0008% beryllium. The material begins as a solid sheet, which is simultaneously slit and stretched, forming a non-raveling mesh with uniform, diamond-shaped voids.
SeaWood
SeaWood is a fiberboard crafted from brown seaweed. The fiberboards are 100% natural, compostable, and chemical-free. The boards integrate 60-90% seaweed sourced from the North Sea, supplemented by residual flows from wood and paper processing industries. The fiberboard is held together with a natural binding agent released during seaweed processing.

Architecture Research Databases

ArchNet This link opens in a new window
Archnet is an Open Access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, conservation issues, visual and material cultures, and other topics related to the built environment. With a focus on societies in which Muslims are or have been a significant cultural presence, Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to quality, unique texts and media that facilitate excellence in teaching, scholarship, and professional work.
Asian Historical Architecture This link opens in a new window
Asian Historical Architecture is a photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage with over 42,000 photos of 1,500 sites in twenty-three countries: Afghanistan, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philipines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Vietnam.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, the Avery Index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The DPLA is a discovery tool, or union catalog, for public domain and openly licensed content held by the United States' archives, libraries, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
New York City Municipal Archives Collections This link opens in a new window
The New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 1.6 million images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, documents, motion pictures, and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time. The gallery includes many complete collections; for others, only representative samples are currently on display.
NYC Open Data This link opens in a new window
NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use.
this database record is originally from NYU's Data Services: https://guides.nyu.edu/datasources/by-topic
Research Library: The Arts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the Arts, Architecture, Music, Theatre, Film, TV, Dance, Design - scholarly journal articles, trade publications, and consumer publications.This resource covers publications on the arts for researchers of all levels.
Urbanitarian This link opens in a new window
Urbanitarian is an independent online library of resources for professionals, government bodies, practitioners, academics, community organizers, planners, architects, urbanists, and urban designers interested in shaping the built environment.

Architecture

Architecture Research

When researching a building, architectural form, construction method, or concept, start by structuring your research question into the following terms:

Building Name

Architect and/or Firm's Name

Building Type

Style

Construction Methods

Location

Date

Architectural Precedents

Architectural precedents are the study of existing buildings or projects. Precedents can be useful references, examples of how to solve a problem or inspiration for new designs!

Architecture precedents are usually chosen for their quality of architecture and innovation. By studying and analyzing these precedents, architects gain valuable insights into principles, strategies, and ideas that shape the built environment.

Check out the JSTOR Digital Library Collection for more images!

Architecture Research Databases