These are guidelines for programming events and exhibitions at the Cooper Union Library. The Library’s Events & Exhibitions Committee schedules events and exhibitions that engage the interest of all disciplines, fostering collaboration and dialogue across Cooper's academic fields. The Library must ensure that events and exhibitions are staged in the safest way possible. Every effort is made to preserve intent while avoiding potential hazards to health and safety. Faculty, staff, students, alumni, and approved guests staging presentations on Cooper Union property must receive specific approval in advance.
Book Launches
Book launches for faculty members in all Schools and Departments. These are typically funded by the faculty member's department, School, or publisher.
Previous programs: Sue Gussow’s Architect’s Draw, Raffaele Bedarida’s Transatlantic Bridges, Margaret Berenson’s Deborah Remington
Faculty Research Talks
Faculty are invited through their department or school to present current research at any stage of its development. These are typically funded by the faculty member's Department or School.
Previous programs: HSS Faculty Focus Series
Archives Exhibitions
Exhibits of archival and special collection materials oriented around specific collections and/or topical themes.
Previous programs: Vietnam at Cooper, Labor Unions, Cooper Hewitt and Company, Color Pedagogy at Cooper, Show of Shows
Student, Faculty, and Staff Exhibitions
Enrolled students in all disciplines are invited to display their work, showcase research projects, curate group shows, and host creative writing/poetry readings in the Library.
Previous programs: Books Without Words and Words Without Books, Cooper Radio Collective, John Hejduk's Security, Yarn Club
Atrium
The Library’s premiere gallery space is the atrium; which features two story ceiling with views into the Archives Reading Room and Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery, and a display niche. The atrium is approximately --- x --- ft. with the capacity of ---- . There are electrical outlets on three columns. The wall niche’s measurements are 23.5” high x 33.5’ long.
Media Room
The Media Room features a large window onto 3rd avenue and a spiral staircase to a mezzanine. The Media Room is approximately --- x --- with the capacity of ---. The Media Room is only suitable for intimate lectures or screenings. The media room features six desktops, one with the capability of displaying to a --- x --- tv monitor.
Archive’s Reading Room
The Archives Reading Room is upstairs on the mezzanine level of the Library. The Reading Room features a large window overlooking the library atrium and views into the Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Gallery. Unfortunately, the Archive’s Reading Room is not ADA accessible, with approximately --- steps to access that level. The Reading room is approximately --- x --- ft, with the capacity of ---.
The Archives is open Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm; however, there is access to the Reading Room during Library hours.
Within the stacks
On occasion, the Library approves installations within the main stacks; however, there should be careful consideration to protect books and study spaces. In the atrium, next to the current journals, there is a display for rotating books displays and curated book collections. The shelves are 8.5 x 13 in for sections A – TP and 11 x16 in for sections N – ND, and TR – Z.
Media Room
Archives Reading Room
Atrium
Long tables
