How Structures Work by
The alliance between architecture and structural engineering is fundamental to the design of the buildings and bridges around us. Anyone who needs or wants to ?understand? a building must have a good understanding of the structural concepts involved. Yet ?structure? is often cloaked in mathematics ? which many find difficult to get to grips with. How Structures Work has been written to explain the behaviour of structures in a clear way without resorting to complex mathematics. Using the minimum of mathematics it explains the structural concepts clearly, illustrated by many historical and contemporary examples, allowing readers to build up a general understanding of structures. In this way they can easily comprehend the structural aspects of buildings for themselves. Primarily aimed at students who require a good qualitative understanding of the behaviour of structures and their materials, it will be of particular interest to students of architecture and building surveying, plus architectural historians and conservationists. The straightforward, non-mathematical approach ensures it will also be suitable for a wider audience including building administrators, archaeologists and the interested layman.
FE Civil Review Manual by
This book is no longer up to date, please see PPI's FE Civil Review for the current edition (ISBN1: 9781591265290 / ISBN2: 1591265290) Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Review Manual offers complete review for the FE Civil exam. This book is part of a comprehensive learning management system designed to help you pass the FE exam the first time. FE Civil Review Manual (FECERM) features include: equations, figures, and tables of the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day 16 diagnostic exams to assess your grasp of knowledge areas covered in each chapter concise explanations supported by exam-like example problems, with step-by-step solutions to reinforce the theory and application of fundamental concepts 30-day web access to the mobile version of the book for on-the-go review access to a fully customizable study schedule to keep your studies on track a robust index with thousands of terms to facilitate referencing a guarantee that if you follow the guidelines described in the "How to Use This Book" section, you'll pass the exam or we will refund your purchase* This book is a companion to the FE Civil Practice Problems (FECEPP)in chapter sequence, nomenclature, terminology, and methodology, so you can easily practice where you need more support. Topics Covered Computational Tools Construction Dynamics Engineering Economics Environmental Engineering Ethics and Professional Practice Fluid Mechanics Geotechnical Engineering Hydraulics and Hydrologic Systems Materials Mathematics Mechanics of Materials Probability and Statistics Statics Structural Analysis Structural Design Surveying Transportation Engineering
PPI FE Civil Review EText - 3 Months, 6 Months, 1 Year by
Michael R. Lindeburg PE's FE Civil Review offers complete coverage of the NCEES Civil FE exam knowledge areas and the relevant elements--equations, figures, and tables--from the NCEES FE Reference Handbook. With concise explanations of thousands of equations, and hundreds of figures and tables, the FE Civil Review contains everything you need to successfully prepare for the Civil FE exam. The FE Civil Review organizes the Handbook elements logically, grouping related concepts that the Handbook has in disparate locations. All Handbook elements are shown in blue for easy identification. Equations, and their associated variations and values, are clearly presented. Descriptions are succinct and supported by exam-like example problems, with step-by-step solutions to reinforce the theory and application of fundamental concepts. Thousands of terms are indexed to facilitate cross-referencing. Entrust your FE exam preparation to PPI and get the power to pass the first time--guaranteed. Topics Covered Computational Tools Construction Dynamics Engineering Economics Environmental Engineering Ethics and Professional Practice Fluid Mechanics Geotechnical Engineering Hydraulics and Hydrologic Systems Materials Mathematics Mechanics of Materials Probability and Statistics Statics Structural Analysis Structural Design Surveying Transportation Engineering Key Features: Complete coverage of all exam knowledge areas. Equations, figures, and tables for version 9.4 of the NCEES FE Reference Handbook to familiarize you with the reference you'll have on exam day. Concise explanations supported by exam-like example problems, with step-by-step solutions to reinforce the theory and application of fundamental concepts. A robust index with thousands of terms to facilitate referencing. Binding: Paperback PPI, A Kaplan Company
ACI 318-19 Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete (ACI 318-19) and Commentary (ACI 318R-19) by 
LRFD Bridge Design Specifications by 
Steel Construction Manual, 15th Ed by 
7-22 Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures by
Prepared by the Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures Standards Committee of the Codes and Standards Activity Division of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE
Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and Other Structures, ASCE/SEI 7-22, provides the most up-to-date and coordinated loading provisions for general structural design. This standard prescribes design loads for all hazards including dead, live, soil, flood, tsunami, snow, rain, atmospheric ice, seismic, wind, and fire, as well as how to evaluate load combinations. The 2022 edition of ASCE 7, which supersedes ASCE 7-16, coordinates with the most current structural material standards including those from ACI, AISC, AISI, AWC, and TMS.
Significant technical changes include the following: new target reliability tables for tsunami and extraordinary loads; new alternative method for loads from water in soil; terminology change from guardrail system to guard system; new provisions for emergency vehicle loads; updated tsunami data for Hawaii and many populous locations in California, coordinated with the state agencies; new tsunami provisions for above-ground horizontal pipelines; revised ground snow loads to reflect more recent snow load data and reliability-targeted values; revised method for estimating drifts to include a wind parameter; design rain load revisions to explicitly consider a ponding head; new risk-targeted atmospheric ice load data for the continental United States and Alaska; multi-period response spectrum data that eliminates need for Fa and Fv coefficients; new lateral force resisting systems such as steel and concrete coupled composite plate shear walls, reinforced concrete ductile coupled shear walls, cross-laminated timber shear walls, and concrete tabletop structures; new provisions for rigid wall, flexible diaphragm buildings (big box stores/warehouses); new and updated provisions for supported and interconnected (coupled) nonbuilding structures; new wind provisions for MWFRS and C&C of elevated buildings; new chapter of tornado provisions; new long return period hazard maps for wind and tornado; and digital data available for all hazards at ASCE Hazard Tool (https://asce7hazardtool.online/).
In addition to the technical changes, the 2022 edition of ASCE 7 provisions are accompanied by detailed commentary with explanatory and supplementary information developed to assist users of the standard, including design practitioners, building code committees, and regulatory authorities.
Standard ASCE/SEI 7 is an integral part of building codes in the United States and around the globe, and is adopted by reference into the International Building Code, International Existing Building Code, International Residential Code, and NFPA 5000 Building Construction and Safety Code. Structural engineers, architects, and those engaged in preparing and administering local building codes will find the structural load requirements essential to their practice.
RSMeans Square Foot Costs by
Means Square Foot Costs 2016 This easy-to-use guide gives you the building components required to develop accurate assemblies-level cost estimates, evaluate trade-off costs, and verify unit price estimates. Be prepared to estimate any job with this indispensable cost reference. An accurate estimate of costs to build your particular project depends on location, project scope, specific components used and currect market conditions.
Sustainability Guidelines for the Structural Engineer by
Sponsored by the Sustainability Committee of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE. This report presents guidelines that are intended to advance the understanding of sustainability in the structural community and to incorporate concepts of sustainability into structural engineering standards and practices. The guidelines are organized into five sections: Sustainable Design and Construction, Sustainable Strategies, Building Materials, Infrastructure, and Case Studies. Although many of the subjects are related, each section--and the related subsections--have been written to stand alone, allowing this report to be used as a practical reference. Infrastructure gets particular attention because many of the concepts and ideas in this guide that relate to infrastructure can also be applied to design and construction. This report was written for structural engineers, but related disciplines will also benefit from the contents. This book will help structural engineers as they meet the challenge to design and construct a sustainable built environment
