The Cooper Union Library: OLD Humanities &amp; Social Sciences: Searching for Articles, eBooks, and More

Searching for Articles and eBooks

The Cooper Union Library provides access to an array of databases and other tools that provide access to scientific and scholarly databases on a variety of topics. Here are a few that can help get your started with your research:

ACLS Humanities EBook (HEB)
Over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences, presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the ACLS HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
The most complete selection of ebooks for research, teaching and learning with content from leading publishers, and many titles available without restrictions.
EBSCO Ebooks Search
Find ebooks from EBSCO across many disciplines.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Search millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Provided by NOVELny—the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library.
HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Fastcase provides access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.
New subscription, June 2024.
JSTOR
JSTOR contains millions of academic journal articles and more than 110,000 ebooks from renowned scholarly publishers, as well as primary sources and millions of high-quality images.
Project MUSE
Provides full-text access to peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
ScienceDirect
Includes publications from the theoretical to the applied on Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life and Health Sciences, and Social and Behavioral Sciences.
SpringerLink Ebooks
Ebooks, ejournals, and reference works from the publisher Springer.
Wiley Online Library
An extensive collection of multidisciplinary ebooks and ejournals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Browse journals here.

Searching for Primary Sources

Searching for images, datasets, archival manuscripts, original texts, historic newspapers or other primary sources can sometimes be a challenge. Here are a few of the type of search tools you can use, but librarians know a lot more. Contact us if you need help.

Census Data
The US Census Bureau provides a variety of tools you can use to explore, analyze and visualize Census data.
Evans-TCP: Early American Imprint Collection Text Creation Partnership
Evans-TCP, a partnership among the TCP, the Readex division of NewsBank, and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), created 5,000 accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions from among the 40,000 titles available in the online Evans Early American Imprints collection (series I).
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies has its roots in New Haven, Connecticut but its collection now spans the Americas, Europe, and Israel. For more than three decades its mission has stayed the same: to record and project the stories of those who were there.
Loeb Classical Library
Ancient Greek and Roman texts, with English translations.
New York Times (Group Pass registration)
Use this site to register for a free institutional New York Times account. Then go to nytimes.com whenever you want to read the New York Times. Valid for current students, staff, and faculty. Must be renewed every four years.
Voices from the Great Hall
The Voices from the Great Hall digital platform encompasses all known sound and video recordings made in the Hall and held by The Cooper Union dating back to John Dewey’s 1941 address "In Philosophy." This historical collection, which documents over 3,000 Great Hall programs, also includes photographs, fliers, press releases, and other ephemera dating back to 1859.

FREE other resources: