The librarians at Bobst have created some useful subject guides:
Irish Studies: Literature, Film and Theatre
Irish and Irish American Studies
You can use these guides to search across multiple databases.
Bobst Library's nyuguest WiFi is available to visitors who are not affiliated with NYU.
Bobst distributes the nyuguest username and password through the guest wireless registration form, which must be submitted on-site at a desktop computer or the dedicated touchscreen computer at the Bobst Library Computer Center (BLCC).
Please note, the password changes weekly.
More information available here.
Useful for examining contemporary views of Baldwin and his work.
Historical Newspapers:
provides images and full-text access to the archives of nearly 2000 newspapers from all 50 states. Searches can be limited to time period, by region of the U.S, by state or city, or by individual newspaper name.
The Historical New York Times: (also at Cooper)
Searchable full text and page images (PDF) of The New York Times from 1851 to 2007.
Times Digital Archive (London):
Dates of coverage: 1785 to 2006.
These links will only work if you are using one of Bobst Library's computers, or if you are logged into their WiFi as a guest.
Literary Criticism and Overviews:
Literature Online (LION)
Allows simultaneous searching of MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) and Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL). (See below) Can be searched by literary time period as well as standard author, title, keyword searching. Results of a search by author may also include websites of related interest. Overlapping coverage between MLAIB and ABELL may result in duplicate articles retrieved. Many links to full text of articles.
MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)
Provides about 2 million records for books, book chapters, and journal articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Covers items published from around 1920 to the present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
ABELL focuses exclusively on British, American, and Commonwealth literature, providing citations to books, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays published from 1920 to the present.
JSTOR
The JSTOR archive holds digitized issues of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues. NYU subscribes to all the content of JSTOR. Reminder: depending on the journal publisher, there is a gap of 1-10 years after publication before an article shows up in JSTOR. There is no truncation and no subject searching in JSTOR. Almost all articles are full text.
Project Muse
A collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences. NYU subscribes to all the content (400 journal titles).
Literature Resource Center
Useful for an overview of an author.
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, critical analyses of writers from all time periods, and from every literary discipline. Includes full-text, searchable versions of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, among many other sources.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Citations to articles from some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. No abstracts, but NYU provides links to full text.
