Skip to main content

HTA273: Episodes in American Documentary Photography

Resources for Chicago Manual of Style

In addition to the print version of the Chicago Manual of Style listed above, the Online version is also available.

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The following are also good resources to use as style guides:

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):
Offers basic information and examples of Chicago formatting style.

Walker, Janice R.
Columbia Guide to Online Style 
Columbia University Press, 2006
Available via Cooper Library subscription to Ebook Central

Finding the Full Text of Articles

You will find more recent information in periodicals than in books. Periodicals include magazines, journals, newspapers and conference proceedings. It is usually easy to find the citations to the articles, but finding the complete article is often another matter. Some of our databases provide links directly to the full text, others only provide the citations.

Check out our Find E-journals link to discover if the journal title is available in an electronic format. If it's there, double-check the date range of coverage to make sure that the particular article is available.

If the journal title isn't in the e-journal list, check for it in the online catalog. Restrict the search to only journals to help limit the results.

Citing References - General Guidelines

For whatever citation style you use:

  • Be complete!  Include all the information necessary to identify the source. When in doubt about whether to include additional information in a citation, include it. If you are lacking crucial information for a citation, the Cooper librarians will be happy to help you track down the missing information.
  • Be consistent!  For all citations for a particular type of source (book, article, etc.), the same information elements should appear in the same order each time.
  • Cite the full title of a journal or newspaper unless the citation style you use explicitly requires abbreviated journal titles (ACS style, for example). Abbreviations can be confusing, so be kind to those who may want to track down your sources.
  • Take advantage of citation formatting in databases: many of the databases to which we subscribe offer tools for saving and exporting article citations. Most databases will allow you to choose among several different citation styles. BUT, verify that the citation is correct. Sometimes the databases make mistakes.
  • A URL alone is NOT a sufficient citation for a website. A web citation should include the title of the page, the author, if known, the publishing organization, and the publication date (date of latest update), as well as the URL. Some citation formats also require including the date you visited the website.

Plagiarism and related issues

Plagiarism is the misrepresentation of any other work as your own. It can be complicated to keep track of where the ideas are coming, especially when working on a longer research project. Check out the following web sites for more information on summarize, citing and bibliographic recordkeeping.

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003