Skip to main content

HTA273: Episodes in American Documentary Photography

Peer Review

Peer Review is a process ensures that articles published in a journal represent the best scholarship available.

When an article is submitted, the journal editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (i.e., the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality and relevance to the field of study, and the appropriateness to the journal itself.

Most databases provide some way to distinguish whether the citation is to a peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal. It is often a check box or radio button.

Off Campus Database Access

Databases at The Cooper Union

All web-based resources from our Library are available campuswide. Off campus access is available for most restricted e-resources via the Library web site.  When you click on a restricted link from off campus, you will be prompted to enter the Library barcode from the back of your ID.

Be sure that your Library registration is up to date and that there are no blocks on your account. The most common reasons for a block are fines over $5 or an improper email address.

Databases at NYU or the New School

Due to licensing restrictions, you are not allowed to use their resources unless you are physically at NYU or the New School. If you are asked to input a NetID, you are not on their campuses.

E-books sources

Ebook Central

Authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas. Create your own account to be able to set up a personal bookshelf, highlight, annotate, and set default citation style. You can also download chapters or entire books. (Please note: Full book downloads expire after two weeks.)

Before you try to download an entire book:

  1. Create an Ebook Central account in order to create a custom bookshelf, highlight and annotate books online, and download books.
  2. Get an Adobe ID in order to authorize devices to store ebooks.
  3. To use a desktop or laptop computer, install Adobe Digital Editions. OR
    To use a mobile device, get the BlueFire Reader app.
  4. When you download books, Ebook Central will provide you with further instructions.

SpringerLink

E-books and e-journals. SpringerLink allows unlimited concurrent users, with no DRM and the ability to download entire books or chapters. Subjects include engineering, computer science, biomedical and life sciences, medicine, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, statistics, business and economics, and more. Some of these ebook titles appear in BobCat with links for Cooper, but not all of them.

Wiley Online Library

Periodicals and books with some content in humanities, art, and architecture, and a strong collection in science.

Finding the Full Text of Articles

You will find more recent information in periodicals than in books. Periodicals include magazines, journals, newspapers and conference proceedings. It is usually easy to find the citations to the articles, but finding the complete article is often another matter. Some of our databases provide links directly to the full text, others only provide the citations.

Check out our Find E-journals link to discover if the journal title is available in an electronic format. If it's there, double-check the date range of coverage to make sure that the particular article is available.

If the journal title isn't in the e-journal list, check for it in the online catalog. Restrict the search to only journals to help limit the results.

Art Databases

Art & Architecture Source 

This database combines Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text from H.W. Wilson with other resources from EBSCO. Includes books, journal articles, and more than 63,000 images. The database concentrates on art, architecture, moving images, and design resources.

Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.

Full text: over 770 full-text journals,  and nearly 220 full-text books.

Coverage dates: 1914-current

Number of current journal titles as of 2017: ~ 900. View title list.

BHA and RILA

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are international databases which covered European art from the late Antiquity (4th c. AD) to present and American art from the European discoveries to the present.

Searching for peer-reviewed journals: It is not possible to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals.

Full text: none.

Closed database.

Coverage: 1975 through 2007.

View BHA title list here. You should note that BHA indexed articles within their editorial scope, and therefore they didn't offer complete coverage of every title listed. Also, BHA and RILA indexed a wide variety of material including books, exhibition catalogs, conference proceedings and dissertations.

Digital Archives and Full Text Databases

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III, V

JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals with high-quality page images. It does not contain current issues. Focused on the arts and humanities, the journals range in subject from philosophy to history, art and architecture to film studies, religion to folklore, and beyond. Cooper Union subscribes to a subset of JSTOR. For the entire JSTOR archive, users will have to go to the NYU Libraries.

JSTOR does not add any subject indexing to the records.

Typically the coverage includes all title variations from the beginning of each publication up to the Moving Wall, which ranges from one to ten years.

Title list and collection descriptions for Arts & Sciences III and Arts & Sciences V.

Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing full text content to a comprehensive selection of humanites and social sciences publications. Cooper Union currently subscribes to the Humanities Collection, which includes 196 peer-reviewed titles as of April 2015.

Project MUSE assigns Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to every article and review.

Users search the entire Project MUSE database. Full text results are indicated by a green checkmark, .

Coverage varies by title.

Lists of journals by title and discipline are available. Coverage is indicated in these lists.

Humanities and Social Sciences Databases

Humanities Source

Covers core periodicals in disciplines such as language and literature, archaeology, area studies, classical studies, folklore, history, journalism and communications, religion and theology, and philosophy.

Searching for peer-reviewed journals: Use the check box on the Advanced Search screen, either before or after running your search.

Updated daily

Coverage dates: 1984 to present, for indexing and abstracts.

Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of November 2, 2010: 629.

Social Sciences Full Text

Covers core periodicals in disciplines such as anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.

Searching for peer-reviewed journals:  Use the check box on the Advanced Search screen, either before of after running your search. 

Updated daily

Coverage dates: 1983 to present, for indexing, 1984 to present, for abstracts.

Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of November 2, 2010: 664.

Omnifile Full Text Select

Full text articles from a subset of Ebsco's databases, including Humanities Abstracts and Social Sciences Abstracts. 

Updated daily.

Coverage dates: 1994 to present, for indexing, abstracts and full text.

Number of journal titles, excluding name changes, as of November 2, 2010: 2,632

Academic OneFile

Multidisciplinary resource containing thousands of references to journals and magazines; transcripts, audio and video of radio and television news; handbooks, factbooks, and reports. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. There is some overlap with General OneFile.

Searching for peer-reviewed journals:  Use the check box on the main search screen.

Full text: Much of the content includes full text. Use the check box on the main search screen to limit to full text articles.

Updated daily.

Coverage dates: 1980 to present.

View title list.

General OneFile

Contains over 12,000 periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources, over half of which are full text. Subjects include humanities, education, environmental issues, technology, health care, politics and more.

Searching for peer-reviewed journals: Use the check box on the main search screen.

Full text: Much of the content includes full text. Use the check box on the main search screen to limit to full text articles.

Updated daily.

Coverage dates: 1980 to present.

View title list.

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003