Skip to main content

HTA313 Space and Time

Metropolitan Museum of Art Libraries

Thomas J. Watson Library 

Thomas J. Watson Library is the central research library of The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Its collection of books and periodicals relating to the history of art is one of the most comprehensive in the world. The primary mission of the library is to support the research activities of the Museum staff; in addition, it welcomes a broad range of students and researchers college age and above.

Register to be an outside researcher here.

The Lita Annenberg Hazen and Joseph H. Hazen Center for Electronic Information Resources, an integral part of Thomas J. Watson Library, provides access to an extensive collection of databases, full-text online journals, and indexed online resources for the history of art. It is the base for the library's extensive program of instruction in the use of art-related electronic resources.

WATSONLINE The catalog of the Libraries of the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Watson Library is a closed stack, non-circulating collection. It is best to page books from the stacks before you arrive at the Library. They will notify you by email when the books are available. You may page up to 10 items at a time. More information on paging material can be found here.

Nolen Library in the Ruth and Harold D. Uris Center for Education

Nolen Library is open to all Museum visitors, without appointment, and welcomes readers of all ages to consult a wide range of materials about the Museum's collection, exhibitions, and the history of art. The library's collection of over ten thousand items, arranged on open shelves, includes general histories of art, artists' monographs, exhibition catalogues, periodicals, graphic novels, and art-related videos. All material must be used in the library, with the exception of educator resources. The library also offers onsite access to extensive online resources, wireless access, and color scanners.

Information on all the Libraries of The Metropolitan Museum of Art can be found here.

The Collection Online The curatorial departments at the Metropolitan Museum of Art maintain files of information about the objects that are in their collections. You can browse the objects or search for something specifically. 

Digital Collections from The Metropolitan Museum of Art Libraries

More info comnig

This section is under construction

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003