Skip to main content

HTA313 Space and Time

Off Campus Database Access

Databases at The Cooper Union

All web-based resources from our Library are available campuswide. Off campus access is available for most restricted e-resources via the Library web site.  When you click on a restricted link from off campus, you will be prompted to enter the Library barcode from the back of your ID.

Be sure that your Library registration is up to date and that there are no blocks on your account. The most common reasons for a block are fines over $5 or an improper email address.

Databases at NYU or the New School

Due to licensing restrictions, you are not allowed to use their resources unless you are physically at NYU or the New School. If you are asked to input a NetID, you are not on their campuses.

SFX Linking at Cooper

The SFX system links an article citation to the full text of the article.  If the Cooper library subscribes to an e-journal or full-text database containing the article, clicking the SFX button will get you directly to the article.

If there is no electronic version available at Cooper, you should search the online catalog for the title of the journal or book containing the article.  You may find a print version available at the Cooper library, or a print or electronic version available at NYU or other consortium libraries.

If you do not find the article source listed in BobCat, please contact your librarians at Cooper Union for help in locating the item

.

Art & Architecture Source

Art & Architecture Source

Combines Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text from H.W. Wilson with other resources from EBSCO. Includes books, images, and journal articles. This database concentrates on art, architecture, moving images, and design resources.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: over 640 journals and more than 225 books.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-current
  • Number of current journal titles as of March, 2015: ~ 900. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective

Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: None within this database. Follow SFX links to check access options.
  • Update frequency: Not applicable.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-1984.
  • Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of August 2, 2011: 557. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Covers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design. Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Architectural design, City planning, Furniture and decoration, Historic preservation, History of architecture, Interior design, Landscape architecture, Urban planning.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: It is not possible to limit a search to peer-reviewed sources. For guidance, see the guide to Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.
  • Full text: No direct full text. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: weekly.
  • Coverage dates: 1741 to present.
  • Number of journal titles, as of April, 2016: 2,500+ with 350+ currently published.
    View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.

ARTbibliographies Modern at NYU

ARTbibliographies Modern available at NYU

Index to Western-language journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art (ca. 1880 - present) and photography. Covers publications 1974 - present.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: ?
  • Fulltext:  Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: Monthly.
  • Coverage dates: 1974 to present
  • Number of current journal titles: selective coverage of 300+ titles.
  • Access restrictions: NYU Libraries,

Search Strategy Worksheet

Use the worksheet above as an exercise to help you:

  1. Articulate your topic.
  2. Break down the topic into its main concepts.
  3. Turn those concepts into search terms.
  4. Come up with related terms (synonyms, broader and narrower terms).
  5. Manipulate your search terms with boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), truncation, and wildcard characters.
  6. Get optimal results!

This thought process will provide you with strategic options to use when formulating a search or when your search results are not satisfactory, whether you are searching for books in a library catalog, articles in a specialized database, or websites when using Google or any general Internet search tool.

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003