Skip to Main Content

ChE381 & 382: Process Evaluation and Chemical Systems Design I & II

Citing References - General Guidelines

For whatever citation style you use:

  • Be complete!  Include all the information necessary to identify the source. When in doubt about whether to include additional information in a citation, include it. If you are lacking crucial information for a citation, the Cooper librarians will be happy to help you track down the missing information.
  • Be consistent!  For all citations for a particular type of source (book, article, etc.), the same information elements should appear in the same order each time.
  • Cite the full title of a journal or newspaper unless the citation style you use explicitly requires abbreviated journal titles (ACS style, for example). Abbreviations can be confusing, so be kind to those who may want to track down your sources.
  • Take advantage of citation formatting in databases: many of the databases to which we subscribe offer tools for saving and exporting article citations. Most databases will allow you to choose among several different citation styles. BUT, verify that the citation is correct. Sometimes the databases make mistakes.
  • A URL alone is NOT a sufficient citation for a website. A web citation should include the title of the page, the author, if known, the publishing organization, and the publication date (date of latest update), as well as the URL. Some citation formats also require including the date you visited the website.

Citation Styles

Science / AAAS Reference Style  (American Association for the Advancement of Science).
This is the citation style that was used for most sections of EID101.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Style Guide

  • ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14: References
    This chapter is available for free download. It "presents style conventions for citing references within a manuscript and for listing complete reference citations."
  • The 3rd edition, 2006 is kept in the Reference collection. Call number: Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006.
  • The 2nd edition, 1997, is in the Main collection. Call number: QD8.5 .A25 1997. That edition may be borrowed for two weeks.

 

Chicago Style

Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition, excerpts available from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL); offers basic information and examples of Chicago formatting style; does not include the entire Manual). Website last updated 2/7/2014.

Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed., University of Chicago, 2010
Cooper Reference Z253 .U69 2010
Earlier edition (2003) in circulating collection:  Z253 .U69 2003

 

Citation Management - Free Resources

FREE CITATION MANAGEMENT TOOLS

Citation Management - Subscription Required

RefWorks
References stored online, to be accessed from anywhere. Software enables linking from RefWorks directly to the article in an e-journal to which your institution subscribes.

Endnote
A commercial reference software program producaed by Thomson Reuters.

Papers
Originally developed for Mac; Windows version available since 2012.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Julie Castelluzzo
Contact: Website
Contact: Facebook Page

Tracking Down an Article from a Citation

You've found a reference to the perfect article for your project!  - - -  But there's no link to the full text of the article.
See the following:

How to Find an Article (or a Book) from a Citation

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003