Skip to Main Content

ChE381 & 382: Process Evaluation and Chemical Systems Design I & II

Chemical Prices - Resources at Cooper

 

ICIS Chemical Business (formerly known as Chemical Marketing Reporter):

Includes weekly sections: Market Trends & Data, and Chemical Profiles. The Chemical Profiles include uses, supply/demand, prices, technology, and outlook.  Each profile is updated every few years.  The University of Texas Austin Chemistry Library maintains a list of the Chemical Profiles by date and compound.

ICIS Chemical Business is available online via Cooper Library subscriptions to the following databases:
Search for chemical names or acronyms to find chemical prices.  If necessary, add the term "price" to your search string.

OmniFile Full Text Select  includes ICIS Chemical Business from 2007 to date.

Business Insights: Essentials includes ICIS Chemical Business from 2006 to date.

The Cooper Library also subscribes to the print version of ICIS Chemical Business.  Print journals are arranged alphabetically in the Library's Periodicals area.

 

Applied Science & Technology Source  (database)
Search chemical name or acronym AND "price."

 

Chemical & Engineering News 
See “Facts and Figures for the Chemical Industry,” usually in issue for the first week of July.  Includes statistics on prices, production, trade, company results, R&D spending and employment.
Available online at NYU's Bobst Library.
The Cooper Library subscribes to the print version of this journal. Back issues of print journals are arranged alphabetically in the Library's Periodicals area.

Freely Available Sources for Chemical Prices

Chemical Prices - Resources at NYU's Bobst Library

Please note that you must use a computer at NYU's Bobst Library (and for some restricted databases, a workstation in the Business Library on the 5th floor of Bobst Library), to use the online resources listed.

Chemical Week:  Search the online version at NYU for the yearly CW Price Report.

Basic Petroleum Data Book:  published monthly by the American Petroleum Institute.  Includes crude oil price info.
Latest issue in Bobst first-floor Reference area:  call no.  HD9564 .A86.

A strategy recommended by business librarians is to search for prices in either Bloomberg or Datastream, and graph them over time so you can see fluctuations in price: 

Bloomberg:  Provides analysis and quotes for equities and indices around the globe, current company, industry and market news, and economic data for the countries of the world.
Only accessible in Bobst Library. To use this resource, stop by the 5th floor Reference Center.

Datastream:  Comprehensive online historical database service provided by Thomson Financial that encompasses a broad range of financial entities and instruments with global geographical coverage. For example, Datastream includes daily prices, trading volumes, and return indices, updated at the end of every trading day, for over 100,000 equities in nearly 200 countries around the world.* Datastream also includes data on bonds, options and other derivatives, mutual funds (unit trusts), market indices, exchange rates, macroeconomic variables, and corporate financial data.
Only accessible in Bobst Library. To use this resource, stop by the 5th floor Reference Center.

Acknowledgements

With thanks to Librarian Jill Powell at Cornell University's Engineering Library, and to Professor William Wilcox of Clarkson University, for permission to adapt and re-use information from their Chemical Engineering Design research guides.

Selected Chemical Prices to 2016

Following are some selected chemical prices.  Excel files courtesy of the Cornell University Engineering Library:

Bloomberg and Datastream databases are available on workstations in NYU's Business Library on the 5th floor of Bobst Library.

Chemicals

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003