Skip to Main Content

ChE381 & 382: Process Evaluation and Chemical Systems Design I & II

Knovel and Other E-Book Providers

Knovel
E-books and interactive tools in engineering and chemistry. Subjects include Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Oil & Gas Engineering, and Sustainable Energy & Development.  Also includes selected premium titles such as DIPPR Project 801. (Design Institute for Physical Properties - Thermophysical Database), and publications of the AIChE Center for Chemical Process Safety (CCPS).

Wiley Online Library (e-books and e-journals)
Over 19,000 titles available, primarily science and technology. Journal coverage is updated daily.

SpringerLink
Over 36,0000 e-books in engineering, computer science, biomedical and life sciences, chemistry, materials science, mathematics, statistics, business, economics, and more, published 2005-2017.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

Multidisciplinary resource with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, and more. There is some overlap with General OneFile database.
Over 11,000 journals, including Chemical Engineering, Hydrocarbon Processing, and Chemistry and Technology of Fuels and Oils.

Engineering Source

Engineering Source
Covers 3000 engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, with full text for 1800 journals. Also indexes books, reports, and conference papers.


SciFinder

SciFinder is a comprehensive source for chemical information. It is produced by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society.  Abstracts most chemical literature and chemical patents; includes some information on chemical suppliers. Includes articles from over 50,000 journals. Coverage dates vary: journal article citations begin 1907; Substance information: early 1800s; Chemical Reactions: 1840. 

SciFinder requires registration to obtain your own login. Contact Julie Castelluzzo in the Library for the registration link.

IMPORTANT: When connecting to SciFinder from anywhere away from the Cooper Union campus, be sure to use a link with the Cooper proxy prefix, such as on this guide or on the main Library website.

After you have registered for an individual login to SciFinder, use the link below to connect:

Connect to SciFinder

Business Insights: Essentials

The Business Insights: Essentials database combines current news, business reports, and trusted reference sources with robust, interactive analysis tools. Includes company chronologies and histories; market research and market share reports; rankings; recent news; SWOT reports (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats); company, industry, and association profiles; and more.
Business Insights indexes articles from over 2500 current journals, over 1600 of those with full text. Updated daily.
Search for chemical names or acronyms to find chemical prices.  If necessary, add the term "price" to your search string.

AIChE journals

American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)

AIChE Journal (1955 to present)

Biotechnology Progress (1985 to present)

Environmental Progress & Sustainable Energy (1982 to present)

Process Safety Progress (1999 to present)

PLEASE NOTE:Earlier issues are available in the Library's print and microfilm collections.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Julie Castelluzzo
Contact: Website
Contact: Facebook Page

Using SciFinder

SciFinder

Step one: register for your own login. Contact Julie Castelluzzo in the Library for the registration link.


IMPORTANT NOTE: When connecting to SciFinder from anywhere away from the Cooper Union campus, be sure to use a link with the Cooper proxy prefix, such as on this guide or on the main Library website.

Remote Access to Cooper E-Resources

To access restricted e-resources from off campus, you must be authenticated as an authorized user.  Usually you will be prompted to enter the barcode number for your Library account (a 14 digit number on the back of your Cooper ID). If that doesn't work, stop by the Circulation Desk or call 212-353-4188.

Common problems include:

  • Fines of $5 or more on the account. You can log in to your account to check on fines owed.
  • Students: your account expires when you graduate or if you are not registered for classes in the current semester.
  • Faculty, staff, and administrators: your account may expire if you have not used our Library in the current semester; or you may not yet have a Library account. Stop by the Circulation Desk to register for an account or to update your information.

Test out your barcode number here. If it works you'll see a list of restricted resources available from off campus.

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003