Skip to main content

George F. Bateman Collection of Cooper Union Alumni Association Materials

Box 1

Folder 1:  Cooper Union Founder's Day Programs and Dinner Menus

February 12, 1891 - 100th Anniversary Program [100th Anniversary of the birth of Peter Cooper],  (7” x 11”), includes etching on front, photograph of Peter Cooper, outline of medals on back cover.

February 12, 1909 - Annual Banquet Program and dinner menu bound with burgundy ribbon, in envelope, (7” x 9 ½”), Park Avenue Hotel, New York, NY.  Includes “Sonnet to Peter Cooper” by  Anna S. Mayer, Class of 1889.

February 12, 1910 - Program and dinner menu in envelope (7” x 9 ½”), Park Avenue Hotel, New York, NY.

February 13, 1911 - Annual Banquet Program and dinner menu (6 ½” x 9 ¼”), Hotel Knickerbocker,  New York, NY.  Includes photograph of the Foundation Building.

February 12, 1912 - Annual Banquet program and dinner menu in envelope, bound with burgundy ribbon (7” x 9 ½”), Park Avenue Hotel, New York, NY.

February 12, 1913 - Program and dinner menu in envelope (7” x 9 ¾”), Park Avenue Hotel, New York, NY, includes rotogravure of Peter Cooper.

February 1916 - Annual Dinner menu bound with yellow ribbon (6” x 8 ¾”), Chemist's Club, New York, NY.  Includes etching of the Hewitt Building, showing proposed additional stories. 

February 12, 1923 - Program with paper insert of Cooper Union Cheers (4 ¾” x 7 ½”), Large Hall of Cooper Union.

February 12, 1924 - Cooper Union Alumni dinner menu (4 ½” x 7”), Aldine Club, New York, NY.

February 12, 1936 - Alumni Federation of Cooper Union program and menu (5 ½” x 8 ½”), Hotel Commodore, New York, NY.  Includes “Cooper Hark!” lyrics from the Class of 1926.

February 12, 1937 - Cooper Union Alumni Association program and menu (5 3/8” x 8 1/8”), no location listed. Program designed by P. S. Anthe of the Architecture School, Class of 1933.

February 12, 1938 - Alumni Association Dinner Dance program and menu (5 ½” x 8 ½”), Great Northern Hotel, New York, NY.

February 3, 1940 - Founder's Day Dinner Dance program and menu (5 ½” x 8 ½”), Commodore  Hotel, New York, NY.  Includes list of names and seating list, and song lyrics: “Cooper Tech” (to the tune of Georgia Tech’s song).

February 1940 - “Cooper Union, Alumni Founder's Day, 1858-1940, Dr. G. F. Bateman,” Card (6 ¾” x 4”); text on reverse: “Dr. Bateman, February 3, 1940.”

Folder 2:  Cooper Union Electrical Engineering Alumni Association/Electrical Society of Cooper Union

Report on the formation of the Night Electrical Engineering Alumni Association, undated.

Electrical Society of the Cooper Union Constitution and By-Laws, undated, with handwritten notes inside booklet (3 ½” x 5 ¼”).

Electrical Engineering Alumni Association of Cooper Union - correspondence regarding election of  delegates (Nov. 16, 1927), and general topic for meeting.  (May 26, 1925).

Folder 3:   Cooper Union Chemical Society

Chemical Society of Cooper Union Annual Dinner, menu card (5” x 7 ½”), January 12, 1907.

Folder 4:   Cooper Union Students Council / Students League

Correspondence and resolutions January 1922-February 1924.

Pamphlets:  all 3 ½” x 6 ¼”:

C. U. Student's League-First Entertainment, Dec. 18, 1914, Student & Graduate Room.

C. U. Student's League-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 24, 1920, Physics Lecture Room.

C. U. Student's League-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 23, 1921, Physics Lecture Room.

C. U. Student Council-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 26, 1924, Physics Lecture Room.

C. U. Student Council-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 26, 1925, Physics Lecture Room.

C. U. Student Council-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 27, 1929, Physics Lecture Room.

C. U. Student Council-Thanksgiving Entertainment, Nov. 25, 1931, Main Hall, Foundation building.

Folder 5:  Cooper Union Debating Class Programs

The Annual Dinner of the Cooper Union Debating Class Alumni Association, May 6, 1939,  (4 ¼” x 10”), Tendered by Miss. M. Helena Zachos, Pent House, Hotel Brittany.   Program lists menu, seating arrangement, and dinner committee list.

Debate and Entertainment of the Cooper Union Debating Class, Feb. 18, 1933,  (5 ¼” x 7”), held in Room 23 in the main corridor of the Cooper Union.

Debate and Entertainment of the Cooper Union Debating Class, April 23, 1934,  (5 ¼” x 7”) held in the large hall of the Cooper Union.

Folder 6:   Miscellaneous Cooper Union Undergraduate Events

“Dance of the Cooper Union Senior Class” Class of 1922 (2 ½” x 4 3/8”)

“Songs and Cheers, Cooper Institute of Technology” 1925 (3 ½” x 5 ½”)

“Class of 1933 Cooper Union Senior Hop, March 18, 1933 (2 ¾” x 4 ¼”), held in The Panhellenic, 3  Mitchell Place, 1st Avenue and 49th Street, NYC.

“Cooper Union 34”Annual Affair of the Cooper Union, Park Central, April 28, 1934 (3” x 4”)

Folder 7:  Cooper Union General Science Alumni Association

Constitution and ByLaws of the Cooper Union General Science Alumni Association (booklet).   April 16, 1929 (5½” x 8½”).

Past Present and Future of the Cooper Union General Science Alumni Ass’n, booklet 1923,  (5” x 8”)

Correspondence to Gano Dunn (President, Board of Trustees) from John C. Riedel (Past President of  the Cooper Union Alumni Federation) April 9, 1935

Annual Reunion Dinner Dance program, Reception for 1935 Graduates and Welcome to President Gano Dunn of the Board of Trustees, coupled with the celebration of the 75th Anniversary of the completion of the 1st year of the Cooper Union, commemorated by the Cooper Union General Science Alumni Association, May 25, 1935, held at the Building Trades Employees Association, 2 Park Avenue, NYC.  Includes menu, program “Cooper Hark!” (To Tune of 'Men of Harlech' by N.  Kerachsky, Class of 1926) and “Cooper Shrine” (To Tune of “Auld Lang Syne,” lyrics by Charles H. J. Dilg, Class of 1889).

Proposal to Amend Article 9 of the Constitution and ByLaws, June 20, 1925.

Folder 8:  Cooper Union Alumni Association

Constitution and By-Laws of the Cooper Union Alumni Association, booklet, undated (3 3/8” x 5 1/2”)

Constitution and By-Laws of the Cooper Union Alumni Association, booklet, undated (3 3/8” x 5 1/8”), pencil note on cover “Secretary's copy.”

Constitution of the Cooper Union Alumni Association, stapled booklet, pencil note “G. F. B. General Meeting, 3-23-36”

Constitution of the Cooper Union Alumni Association and Report to the Recognition Committee,  Sept. 17, 1934.

Alumni Association Constitution, and Revision Committee recommendations, undated.

List of nominees for Association positions.

Folder 9:  Cooper Union Alumni Federation

Architectural Alumni Association, overview, undated.

Alumni Federation of Cooper Union, Minutes of Regular Monthly Meeting, March 28, 1932

Amendment to Constitution March 27, 1925 with handwritten notes, and cover letter from John. C.  Riedel dated May 16, 1925.

Alumni Federation of Cooper Union, Constitution and ByLaws - proposed version, undated.

Alumni Federation of Cooper Union, Constitution and ByLaws - voided copy, March 27, 1925.

Description of “the Alumni Federation of Cooper Union” for The Cooper Union Cable [yearbook] 1926.

Official Copy of the Constitution of the Alumni Federation of Cooper Union, March 27, 1925.

Correspondence from the Secretary of the Alumni Federation to Mr. Mazzola, November 12, 1926, re obtaining cooperation of the Chemistry Section of the Alumni body.

Folder 10:  Miscellaneous Pamphlets & Invitations

Class of 1923 Day Technical School of Cooper Union (pamphlet, 5 ½” x 8 ½”, “Professor G. F. Bateman” written on cover).  Includes menu, quotes from Cooper Union professors (Bateman included) and list of students.

Announcement of the Cooper Union Alumni Association, Feb. 3, 1940, (5 ½” x 4”), invitation to  join  the Cooper Union Alumni Association Club House, located in the Midston House, 38th Street and Madison Avenue, New York, NY.

Availability

These papers are held in the Cooper Union Archives and Special Collections, 7 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003. 

Archives materials are available to interested researchers by appointment only. 

Please contact Katie Blumenkrantz, Archives Librarian:  
          e-mail: archives@cooper.edu          
          tel: 212-353-4184

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003