Skip to main content

Papers of Edward C. Mack (1904-1998), related to the writing of the book, Peter Cooper, Citizen of New York

Box 1

Folder 1:  Miscellaneous  (Undated, 1853, 1934, 1936)

Folder 2:  Cooper Union   (Undated, Feb. 7, 1947 – Dec. 8, 1949

Includes correspondence with Cooper Union President Edwin S. Burdell, re  available historic materials,  a three-party contract (Mack, The Cooper Union and   Duell, Sloan & Pearce) for the book, and progress on the manuscript.

Also in file:  article from the New York Herald Tribune titled “Hewitt-Cooper Clans  Meet in First Reunion; 110 Descendants of Two Inventive New Yorkers Gather at  Cooper Union,” March 22, 1948.

Folder 3:  Correspondence and preliminary research materials    (Dec. 17, 1947 – Sept. 22, 1949)

Contains correspondence with Limestone College and information pertaining to Peter Cooper's history and involvement with Limestone College.

Folder 4:  Correspondence with Supreme Court Stenographer    (Feb. 2, 1948 – April 16, 1948)

Regarding the transcription from shorthand of Peter Cooper’s dictated autobiography.

Folder 5:   Correspondence regarding missing Peter Cooper papers    (Feb. 17, 1948 – Feb. 28, 1948)

Folder 6:  Correspondence with Edward Ringwood Hewitt   (Undated, March 20, 1948 – Dec. 1949)

Folder 7:  Strook & Strook & Lavan,  contract with Duell, Sloann & Pierce, Inc. Publishers   (June 2, 1947 – May 1, 1950)

Folder 8:   Reviews & Comments     (Undated, June 6, 1949 – Nov. 13, 1958)

Folder 9:   Permissions & Rights     (Feb. 11, 1948 – Oct. 28, 1958)

Folder 10:   Newspaper reviews    (Jan. 21, 1934 – March 26, 1950)

Includes reviews of "Peter Cooper, Citizen of New York" as well as reviews written by Mack of other authors' work.

Folder 11:   Newspaper reviews    (Jan. 21, 1934 – March 26, 1950)

Preservation photocopies of the originals in Folder 10

Folder 12:  Biography of Peter Cooper

5 pages, typewritten  (Undated)

Availability

These papers are held in the Cooper Union Archives and Special Collections, 7 East 7th Street, New York, NY 10003. 

Archives materials are available to interested researchers by appointment only. 

Please contact Katie Blumenkrantz, Archives Librarian:  
          e-mail: archives@cooper.edu          
          tel: 212-353-4184

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003