Skip to main content

Records of the New York Electrical Society, 1881-1948

Box 1: The New York Electrical Society Bound “Minute Books”

The following books contain handwritten notes on location, date, name of lecturer, and lecture title.  Various pamphlets and printed articles are also incorporated into the books.

Book 1:  July 28, 1886-January 29, 1896

Book 2:  New York Electrical Society Meeting Minutes May 25, 1887-January 9, 1899, including Meetings of the Executive Committee and New York Electrical Exhibition meeting minutes.

Book 3:  February 27, 1896-November 30, 1904

Book 4:  January 18, 1905-April 20, 1916

Book 5:  May 18, 1916-June 8, 1923

Book 6:  June 25, 1923-May 29, 1929

Book 7:  October 16, 1929-May 16, 1940

Box 2: The New York Electrical Society Meetings 1900-1937

The following folders generally contain pamphlets of lectures delivered before The New York Electrical Society, typewritten text of the lectures delivered, and a minimal quantity of typed meeting minutes.

Folder 1:  Meetings November 1900-March 1903

Includes text of lectures by:                                            

Charles Proteus Steinmetz, “Systems of Electrical Transmission and Distribution,”

Dr. Louis Bell, “Electrical Illumination,”

Charles Day, “The Requirement of Machine Tool Operation with Special Reference to the Motor Drive,”

Joseph Sachs, “Electrical Fuses in Relation to the Insurance Hazard,”

R. H. Thurston “Steam-Turbines to Date.”  

Folder includes meeting minutes for June 6, 1901; Oct. 17, 1902; Dec. 18, 1902; Jan. 22, 1903; and March 12, 1903.

Folder 2:  Meetings October 1904-May 1906

Includes text of lectures by:

Prof. William Hallock, “Physics and Electricity,”

Herbert H. Vreeland, “Electrical Railway Operation in A Great City,”

N. J. Neall, “Lightning Protection for High Voltage Circuits,”

Charles A. Hudge, “High Speed Long Distance Electric Traction,”

Robert T. Lozier, “Fundamental Principles of Gas Engines and Gas Producers,”

F. B. Behr, “Mono-rail System of Transportation,”

Max E. Schmidt, “Moving Platform Railway.”  

Folder includes meeting minutes for October 26, 1904.

Folder 3:  Meetings October 1907-August 1913

Includes text of lectures by:      

Ely Acheson, [text exists; no title noted]

Ernest J. Berg, “Oscillations and Surges Affecting the Design of Systems for The Transmission of Electrical Energy.”

Herbert N. Casson, “The Effect of the Telephone on Modern Industrial and Social Life.”

E. P. Edwards, “Electricity as a Factor in Progressive Agriculture.”

Dr. Thadeus Cahill, “What Is Electrical Music.”

William J. Hammer, “The William J. Hammer Historical Collection of Incandescent Lamps.”

This folder does not contain any meeting minutes, but does hold correspondence relating to the lectures.

Folder 4:  Meetings October 1914-December 1916

Includes text of lectures by:

Theodore Case, “A New Way of Converting Light into Electrical Energy.”

E. R. Knowles “Dust -- Its Universality, its Conservation and its Elimination.”

[Unknown lecturer], “The Fire Alarm System of the City of New York.”

[Unknown lecturer], “Electricity in War.”

Frank W. Smith, “United Electric Light and Power Co. -- New Plant” visit and talk.  

Folder includes New York Electrical Society meeting minutes: June 10, 1914 and correspondence relating to the lectures.

Folder 5:  Meetings March 1917 – December 1923

Includes text of lectures by:

Admiral Robert Peary, “Air Power for the United States.”

Major Frederick Palmer, “Our Army in France.”

Dr. Schuyler Skaats Wheeler, “Electrical Work for the War-Blind.”

Mr. Frederick Handley Page, “Commercial Aviation.”  

Folder includes minutes for meetings of: May 2, 1918, including 1918 Revision of Society's Financial Methods; May 23, 1918; May 13, 1920; Oct. 27, 1921; June 12, 1923; Oct. 1, 1923.

Folder 6:  Meetings February 1924 – December 1925

Includes text of lectures by:

Harvey Fletcher, “The Physical Properties of Speech, Music and Noise, and Their Relation to Transmission Problems.”

C. Faccioli, “High Voltage Phenomena.”

J. Barton, “The Present Status of Automatic Substations.”

File also includes NYES meeting minutes for: Sept. 9, 1924; Nov. 20, 1924; Feb. 19, 1925; April 16, 1925, and Sept. 17, 1925.

Also included:   NYES Annual Reports of 1923-24 and 1924-1925.

Additional Reports included:  1923-24 Report of the Sustaining Membership Committee, and

Final Report of the Delinquent Committee of the New York Electrical Society, December 31, 1924.

Note:  for meetings of October 10, 1928 through December 12, 1928, see Oversize Meeting Books in Box V, described below in this document. 

Note:  for meetings of January 9, 1929 through December 11, 1929, see also Oversize Meeting Books in Boxes V and VI, described below in this document.

Folder 7:  Meetings October 1929-December 1929

Folder includes press release and papers related to The National Electrical Exposition,

Packet of information on Edward Stearns lecture, “The Worlds Greatest Suspension Bridge,”

Lecture by John Bellamy Taylor, “Super-Speeded Speech.”   [see also Oversize Book 11:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, November 6, 1929 for more on Super-Speeded Speech].

Folder also includes New York Electrical Society meeting minutes of December 11, 1929 and meeting notices, posters, and press releases.                                                                                           

Folder 8:  Meetings January 1930 – November 1930

Includes text of lectures by:

Prof. Vladimir Karapetoff, “What Electricity is Not,”

Dr. William Braid White, “Is Noise Scrambled Music?”

Dr. Robert Millikan, “Recent Advances in our knowledge of the Universe around Us.”

Dr. H. H. Sheldon, “Matched Colors That Do Not Match.”

Dr. H. J. Fry, “Cell Surgery.”

Sergius P. Grace, “Play-o-Fine Crink-a-nope” (includes 11 black and white photos of demonstration),

Information packets (press releases, fliers, etc.) on Dr. Paul Heyl's lecture “Scientific Conquests of 1929.”

Pamphlet, “New York Electrical Society, a Visit to a World Famous School -- West Point” (includes four black-and-white photographs).

Note:  for meetings of January 8, 1930 through December 16, 1930, see also Oversize Meeting Books in Box VII, described below in this document.

Folder 9:  Meetings January 1931 – December 1931

Includes text of lecture by John T. Madden and E. E. Free, “Can Science Help Business?”

Includes text of lecture, flier, press releases for Dr. Alfred N. Goldsmith, “The New Music of Electric Vibrations.”

Poster and newspaper clipping from lecture by Dr. M. Lukiesh, “Color in the Work World.”

Press release and newspaper clipping from lecture by Dr. H. T. Stetson and Dr. Clyde Fisher, “Electricity and Astronomy.”

Press release and other papers relating to lecture by Dr. Francis Carter Wood, “Modern Use of X-Rays and Radium.”

Papers relating to lecture by Col. Frederick L. Devereux, “New Talking Movies.”

Press release for lecture by Edwin K. Cohan, “How We Get Quality Broadcasting.”

Press release for lecture, “Electricity in Modern Medicine” by Kelly, Failla, Tenney, Ward, and Williams.

Press release, pamphlets, and dinner program for New York Electrical Society, Illuminating Engineering Society and New York Central Railroad event.                                

Folder 10:  Meetings January 1932 – December 1932

Folder Includes: 

Pamphlet and transcript for Professor Marston T. Bogart's lecture, “Perfume Engineering,”

Pamphlet for lecture by Dr. Harvey C. Rentschler, “Scientific Conquests of 1931,”

Transcript and newspapers clippings for lecture by V. R. Jacobs on “Airship Development” and photographic portrait of V. R. Jacobs.

Transcript, and press release for lecture by Prof. Charles R. Richards, “A Modern Museum of Science and Industry.”

Press release, photographs, transcript and newspaper clippings for Orestes Caldwell's lecture, “The Electric Eye in the Printing Arts.”

Press release and newspaper clippings for Dr. M.I. Smith's lecture, “National War on Disease.”

Press release, transcripts and other papers relating to Mrs. Sherwin F. Kelly's lecture “Exploring Downwards.”

Information packet on the New York Electrical Society visit to Newark Airport.

Pamphlet, papers, and meeting minutes in tribute to Frank J. Sprague.

 Folder 11:  Meetings January 1933 – December 1933

Flier and press release for lecture by Dr. H.C. Parmelee, “New Things.”

Press release, correspondence and diagrams for Dr. W. G. Swann's lecture, “Cosmic Rays.”

Press release, portrait photograph and related publications for Dr. Herbert Grove Dorsey's lecture,

“New Electrical Aids to Navigation.”

Press release and newspaper clippings on lecture by Dr. Harlan True Stetson, “The Sun's Effects on Human Affairs.”

Transcript of lecture by Dr. Clayton H. Sharp, “Edison's Radio Tube of 1883;” also correspondence related to lecture.

Press release for lecture by Dr. Annie Cannon. “Hearing Radio from the Stars -- Unraveling Stellar Secrets;” four photographs of demonstration also included.

Information pamphlets and group photo for the “New York Electrical Society Annual Visit: Behind the Scenes at Radio City and Rockefeller Center.”

Press release and information on New York Electrical Society Inspection Tour and Lecture at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center.

Flier and announcements for New York Electrical Society’s “Visit to NBC Radio City Studios.”

Folder 12:  Meetings January 1934- December 1934

Flier and papers relating to lecture by Dr. Harvey Fletcher, “Transmission and Reproduction of Speech and Music in Auditory Perspective.”

Press release, correspondence and papers on Dr. Thomas E. Snyder's lecture “Termites: Afield and in the Home.”

Press release and transcripts of lecture by Ben Nash and Raymond Lowery, “New American Style is Creation of Science.”

Transcript and  program for lecture by Andre Kostelanetz and E. K. Cohan, “New York Electrical Society Behind the Scenes at a Big Radio Broadcast.”

Transcript and invitation card for Dr. Orestes H. Caldwell's lecture “Talking Radio Beam Would Show Lightship's Distance.”

Transcript, press release, correspondence, and flier for joint lecture by Drs. Gonzalez, Gettler, and  Martland on “Scientific Crime Detection.”

Press release, transcript and other papers relating to Dr. W. B. Kouwenhoven's lecture, “Electric Shock: What It Does to Human Beings.”

Press release, flier, and two photographs of lecture by Ellis L. Mannings, “Adventures in Science.”  

Pamphlets and papers related to the Joint Meeting of the American Institute of Physics and the New York Electrical Society on the topic “Science Makes More Jobs.”

Folder 13:  Meetings January 1935- December 1935

Transcript, press release, and flier for lecture by Howard W. Blakeslee, “Science in Action 1934.”

Transcript, press release, and flier for lecture by John B. Blandford, Jr., “Tennessee Valley Authority.”

Transcript, press release, and flier for joint lecture by Drs. Chase, Wickenden, Fink and Gregg on “Scientific Education: What is Wrong with It?”

Press release, flier, and demonstration photograph for Alvin L. Powell's lecture, “Artificial Light: The Engineer’s Greatest Gift to Mankind.”

Press release and biography of Morris Fishbein. M.D. for his lecture “Fads and Quackery in Healing.”

Transcripts, press release, and biographical information on Preston R. Bassett for his lecture “Air Navigation Week: Automatic Flight.”

Transcript, press release, and flier for lecture by Kenneth Mees, “Color Photography and the Kodachrome Process.”

Press release and flier for joint lecture by Frank F. Forshee and I. W. Clark, “Engineering of the Home Tomorrow.”

Pamphlet and flier for joint lecture by Dr. Fisher and William Bart, Jr., “How the Wheels Go Around.”

Flier and press release for the New York Electrical Society’s “Inspection Trip to the New York Botanical Garden.                                                                                                          

Folder 14:  Meetings January 1936 – December 1936

Transcript of lecture by Dr. W. F. G. Swann, “High Lights of Science 1935;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript, flier and papers relating to lecture by Dr. P. K. Frolich, “Recent Petroleum Developments.”

Flier, press release, and newspaper clipping on lecture, “High Efficiency Gaseous Lamps;” file includes four black and white photographs of demonstration.

Press release and flier for lecture by Drs. Urey, Pegram and Tuve on “Heavy Hydrogen, Nuclear Collisions and Synthetic Radioactivity.”

Press release and flier for joint lecture by Mr. McClure and Mr. Dial on “Plastics: Where They Come From and What They Are;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Harry Groesbeck, Jr., “The Graphic Arts: Pictures We See and Words We Read: How They Are Reproduced and Printed;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Mr. Chamberlain, Mr. Reis, and Mr. Free, “Theater Broadcasting;” also correspondence relating to lecture; also script for demonstration.

Pamphlets, press release, flier and newspaper clippings for lecture by A. E. Pitcher, General Manager of the Plastics Department, E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co., on “Pontalite: A New Crystal-Clear Plastic;” sample of plastic included in file.                      

Flier and correspondence relating to the Electrical Society’s “Inspection Trip to the Bethlehem Steel Company;” also includes General Electric packet “Motor and Control Equipment for Cold Strip Mill Drives” by Mohler.

Pamphlet and papers relating to “The Private Opening of the New York Museum of Science and Industry.”

Folder 15:  Meetings January 1937 – December 1937

Flier for lecture by Waldemar Kaempffert, “Science Triumphs of 1936;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Fred Albee on “The Electric Tools of the Surgeon;” file also includes article from Scientific American on bone surgery.

Transcript, press release, flier and newspaper clippings for lecture by Dr. Phillips Thomas, “Adventures in Electricity;” also included are 6 photographs of the lecture demonstration.

Outline and flier for lecture by James W. Schade, “Rubber -- A Versatile Servant;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript and flier for lecture by Colonel Frederick Devereux, “The Educational Film;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript, press release and flier for lecture by Dr. Francis Wood, “Million Volt X-Ray Generator for Deep Therapy Research.”

Flier for lecture by Mr. R. E. Vetterli, “Science in Crime Detection;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for joint lecture by Lazarus White and Donald C. Waite,Building Subways.”

Transcript, press release, and flier for lecture by Edmund Davenport, “Modern Steels For Modern Uses; also correspondence relating to lecture; biographical notes and photograph of Edmund Davenport.

Box 3: Meetings 1938-1947 and Miscellaneous Bound Volumes

The following folders generally contain pamphlets of lectures delivered before The New York Electrical Society, typewritten text of the lectures delivered, and a minimal quantity of typed meeting minutes.

Folder 1:  Meetings January 1938-December 1938

Flier and newspaper clippings on lecture by Dr. Karl K. Darrow, “A Review of Recent Developments in Nuclear Physics;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and newspaper clippings on lecture by William Stewart, “X-Ray Motion Pictures of the Internal Organs.”

Flier for lecture by Dr. S. A. Mitchell, “The 1937 Eclipse Expedition to Canton Island;” also correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release, flier and newspaper article on lecture by A.E. Marshall, “Glass:  New Developments in an Ancient Art;” also correspondence relating to lecture, and textile filament sample.

Flier and newspaper clippings on lecture by J. Owen Perrine, “Waves, Words and Wires;” also correspondence relating to lecture; file also includes photograph of J. Owen Perrine.

Transcript and flier for New York Electrical Society’s “Long Distance Telephone Inspection Trip.”

Press release and flier for New York Historical Society’s “Electrical Testing Laboratories Inspection Trip;” file also includes correspondence relating to trip, list of topics discussed, and photograph. 

Folder 2:  Meetings January 1939-December 1939

Transcript, flier, and newspaper clippings for lecture by Charles Snowden Piggott, of the Geographical Laboratory, Carnegie Institute of Washington, on “Beneath the Bottom of the Ocean;” also correspondence relating to lecture.                                    

Transcript, press release and flier for lecture by Harvey Fletcher, “Hearing Made Visible:” file also includes biography of Harvey Fletcher.          

Press release and flier for lecture by Paul V. Faragher, “Aluminum in Industry;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and biography of Paul V. Faragher.

Press release, flier and newspaper article on lecture by Dr. E. U. Condon, “Making New Atoms in the Laboratory.

Press release for joint lecture by Lloyd Craver and G. Failla, “The Cancer Problem Today;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier and schedule for lecture by F. E. Denny, “People Plants and Chemicals;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release, flier and pamphlets for New York Electrical Society “Inspection Trip to the Waterside Generating Station-Con. Edison Company” (located on First Avenue, south of 40th Street).

 Folder 3:  Meetings January 1940-December 1940

Press release and flier for lecture by Carl-Gustav Rossby, “New Techniques in Weather Forecasting;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by George McAneny, “Planning the City of Tomorrow;” file also includes list of George McAneny’s credentials.

Press release and flier for lecture by Robert R. Williams, “The Chemical Descent of Man;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Willard C. Brown, “What’s New in Lighting;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, list of lighting supplies for sale, biography and photographic portrait of Brown.

Flier for lecture by F. S. Goucher, “The Microphone and Research;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release, flier, and newspaper clippings for lecture by Miller McClintock and William Halstead, “Electrical Devices to Control Traffic;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by J. R. Dunning, “New Progress in Atom Smashing;” file also includes correspondence with Columbia University relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for New York Electrical Society’s “Westinghouse Lamp Division -- Inspection Trip;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and 3 photographs.

Folder 4:  Meetings January 1941-December 1941

Press release and flier for lecture by Grover Loening, “Future Air Transportation Trends;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by Robert Chambers, “The Living Cell and Its Environment;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by Raymond F. Guy, “Frequency 'FM' Modulation Broadcasting;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier and newspaper clippings for lecture by V. K. Zworykin, “The Electron Microscope: A New Research Tool;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and biography of Zworykin. Press releases, flier and newspaper clippings for joint lecture by Carner, Blumberg, Glanber, and Diefenbach, “To-Morrow's Scientists;” file also includes 5 photographs.

Flier for lecture by James L. Clark, “Behind the Scenes: American Museum of Natural History;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Everett S. Lee, “Romance of Measurements;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier and notes for lecture by Cornelius P. Rhoads, “Vitamins;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Folder 5:  Meetings January 1942 -December 1943

Flier for lecture by Karl K. Darrow, “Physical and Chemical Forces;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Robert P. Shaw, “Defense in Action;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by Dr. Phillips Thomas, “Recent Scientific Developments Demonstrated by a Traveling Laboratory;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and 3 photographs of the demonstration.

Flier for lecture by Lee A. DuBridge, “Science and Engineering in The War Effort;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Louis H. Bauer, “Aviation Medicine;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and article from Mechanical Engineering, May 1942.

Flier and outline of lecture by Charles M. Ripley, “Power for War;” file includes article by Ripley from The Quill, September, 1942, that includes a portrait of Ripley.

Flier for lecture by Dr. Isidor Fankuchen [Cooper Union alumnus and honoree; see Cooper Union 100th Anniversary Photographs collection, Call no. C 5CJ P611 1956-1959 Shelf P], “What X-Ray Can Tell Us about Viruses;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Robert W. King, “Science To War;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript, press release, schedule, and newspaper clipping for lecture by Rear Admiral H. L Vickery,  “Shipbuilding In World War II;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript, press release, fliers, and newspaper clipping for joint lecture by Charles Froesch and Samuel O. Dunn, “Cargo Carrying Enters A New Era;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Flier for lecture by Gray H. Twombly, “Nature and Modern Treatment of Cancer;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Transcript, press release, flier, and newspaper clipping lecture by H. C. Gillespie, “Radiothermics;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release, flier, and newspaper clipping for lecture by L. F. Livingston, “Agriculture at War;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and article from The Cincinnati Association of Purchasing Agents, which includes image of L. F. Livingston.

Transcript, press release and flier for lecture by James Stokley, “Research and The Future.”

Folder 6:  Meetings January 1944-December 1944

Press release and flier for lecture by H. A. Frederick, “An Electrical Director for Anti-Aircraft Guns;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by Charles G. King, “Research in Nutrition as a Contribution to Public Health;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and catalog: Yeast and Vitamin Products and Yeast Derivatives.

Press release, flier, and newspaper clippings for lecture by Dr. Orestes H. Caldwell, “The Post War Electronic Era.”

Press release and flier for lecture by G. Edward Pendray, Rockets and Jet Propulsion;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and photographic of Pendray.

Press release and flier for lecture by Sidney D. Kirkpatrick, “Magnesium: Miracle Metal of War and Peace;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by Donald S. McKenzie, “Plastics: Past, Present and Future;”
file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and portrait of Donald S. McKenzie.

Flier for lecture by Roy V. Wright, “ Why Could the Railroads Meet The War Challenge;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and Minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of  November 15, 1944 relating to the lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by George B. Hoadley, “Microwave Radio Transmission;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and Agenda for NYES Board Meeting of  December 14, 1944 relating to the lecture.

Folder 7:  Meetings January 1945-December 1945

Announcement of honorary NYES memberships to be bestowed upon Dr. Gano Dunn and Dr. Frank B. Jewell; also includes a brief description of Dr. George Bateman who will confer the honorary memberships.

Press release, flier, and outline of lecture by Dr. Edwin M Guyer, “Working Glass with Radio Waves;”
file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and minutes of NYES Board of Directors Meeting of January 10th, 1945.

Press release, flier, and brief description of lecture by John E. McKeen on “Penicillin: its Production and Application;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and several publications on penicillin, including one by McKeen and several by Charles Pfizer & Co., Inc.   Also included in file:

Pfizer products catalogs, and Metropolitan Section A.S.M.E. Spring Course flier.

Flier and newspaper clippings for lecture by Richard C. Davis, “An Electrical Flight Trainer for Airplane Crews;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and clipping from Bell Laboratories Record of February 1945 in relation to the lecture.

Flier and outline of lecture by Dr. Thomas H. Johnson, “Recent Developments in the Measurement of Projectile Velocities;”; file also includes Minutes of the NYES Board of Director’s meeting of March 13, 1945 in relation to the lecture.

Press release and flier for lecture by W. E. Stevenson, “Milestones in the Development of X-Ray Tubes;” file also includes correspondence relating to lecture, and several article reprints:  “Effect of Cable Length On Radiation Output of Shock-Proof X-Ray Tubes” from Radiology (vol. 32, February 1939); “Malleable Beryllium” from Metals and Alloys (April 1942); “An Improved X-Ray Tube for Diffraction Analysis” from Journal of Applied Physics (June 1942);  “A New Design For Increasing The Heat-Dissipating Capacity of Rotating Anode Tubes” the American Journal of Roentgenology and Radium Therapy.  Also included are a pamphlet and catalog of X-ray tubes produced by Machlett Laboratories Inc., and the minutes of the New York Electrical Society Board of Director's meeting of April 11, 1945.

 Flier, description of lecture, and notes on lecture by J. Owen Perrine, “Electric Waves: Long and Short;” file also includes minutes of NYES Board of Directors meeting of May 28, 1945.

Flier and description of lecture by W. H. Doherty on “Radar;” file also includes article “Radar and the Bell System,” distributed by AT&T, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of October 9, 1945.

Flier for lecture by J. R. Dunning, “Development of Atomic Energy;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the N NYES Board of Directors meeting of November 14, 1945.

New York Electrical Society calendar notice of re-election of George F. Bateman as President of the society.

 Folder 8:  Meetings January 1946-December 1946

Press release and flier for lecture by Shailer L. Bass, “Silicones: A New Chemical Continent;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and article “Silicons: A New Chemical Continent” (source unknown).

Press release and flier for lecture by Elmer William Engstrom, “Television;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of January 16, 1946.

Flier and brief outline of lecture by Harvey C. Rentschler, Director of Research for the Westinghouse Lamp Division, and William Theodore Anderson, “The Ultraviolet Circle;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and biography of William T. Anderson.  Also included are minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of February 6, 1946.

Flier for joint lecture by E. E. Charlton and R. E. Small, “Peeks Over The Frontier;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of March 20, 1946.  File also includes minutes of the 1946 Annual Meeting, which was combined with an Inspection Trip to the New York Naval Shipyard.

Press release and flier for lecture by C. E. Kenneth Mees, “Modern Color Photography;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of May 23, 1946.

Flier for lecture by Peter C. Goldmark, “Color Television;” file also includes agenda for the NYES Board of Director's meeting of November 12, 1946.

Press release and flier for lecture by George E. Brown, “Seeing In The Dark;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of November 12, 1946.

Folder 9:  Meetings January 1947-December 1947

Flier and summary of joint lecture by J. E. Hoberman (Director, Armour Research Foundation, Chicago, IL), H. A. Leedy (Chairman of Physics Research, Armour Research Foundation), and J. S. Kemp's (Magnetic Recording Engineer, Armour Research Foundation) on “Magnetic Recording;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of December 18, 1946.  File also includes American Institute of Electrical Engineers bookplate.

Flier for lecture by Colonel James P. Cooney, “The Bikini Atomic Bomb Tests;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of January 15, 1947.

Press release, flier, abstract, and summary of lecture by C. N. Hickman, “ Rocket Developments for World War II;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES

Board of Directors meeting of  February 5, 1947.  File also includes pamphlet U.S. Rocket Ordinance: Developed Use in World War II, and New York Electrical Society notes regarding Annual Director's Ladies Dinner.

Press release, flier, and summary of lecture by James Hillier, “Electron Microscopy And its Application to Biology;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and a short biography of James Hillier.  Also included are minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of March 5, 1947, and the  Report of Committee to Draft Conditions of Barstow Award, dated April 9, 1947.

Flier and program schedule for 1947 Inspection Trip and Annual Meeting of the New York Electrical Society at the Airborne Instruments Laboratory in Mineola, Long Island; file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Annual Meeting, May 17, 1947. Also included in file are two maps of Long Island and product catalog for Airborne Instruments Laboratory Inc.

Transcript and flier for lecture by W. D. Buckingham, “Concentrated Arc Lamp;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and two pamphlets:  Characteristics and Applications of Concentrated Arc Lamps by W. D. Buckingham and C. R. Deibert, reprinted from The Journal of The Photographic Society of America, November 1946, and A Preview of the Western Union System of Radio Beam Telegraphy by Colonel Julian Z. Miller.  File also includes minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of May 22, 1947.

Flier and summary of lecture by A. F. Benning, “Fluorine: The Most Reactive of all Elements;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting of October 22, 1947, and  NYES Treasurer's Report June 1946-May 1947.

Press release and flier for joint lecture by W. F. Wells and Mildred Weeks Wells, “Reducing Air-Borne Infection;” file also includes correspondence relating to the lecture, and essay by W. F. Wells, “Sanitary Ventilation.”  File also includes minutes of the NYES Board of Directors meeting November 19, 1947.

Folder 10:   New York Electrical Society Report of Audit 1947

Report of Audit for the Fiscal Year Ending May 31, 1947, Document dated Oct. 17, 1947.

Folder 11:  Photographic File, 1954:  Dissolving the New York Electrical Society and Presentation of Funds to Cooper Union

Three (8 x 10") black-and-white photographs of the presentation of funds to Cooper Union, April 27, 1954.  (Photographs are variations of George F. Bateman, former President and Director of the New York Electrical Society, presenting a check to Edwin S. Burdell, President of Cooper Union, with unidentified onlookers). 

Miscellaneous Bound Volumes:

Book 1:  Report of the Information & Publicity Committee 1927-1928

Includes “NYES: A Confidential Guide for Officers & Committee Men ... the What-Who-Where-Why-When-How of This Organization.”  Book 1 also includes newspaper clippings, fliers, press releases, NYES poster distribution lists (names, addresses), correspondence, and photographs from lectures.

Book 2:  Report of the Information & Publicity Committee 1927-1928

Duplicate of Book 1 without “NYES: A Confidential Guide for Officers & Committee Men...the What-Who-Where-Why-When-How of This Organization.”

Book 3:  Incorporation of the New York Electrical Society June 1930-June 1931

“the first meeting of the incorporation of the New York Electrical Society...” June 13, 1930. 

Contains papers relating to the incorporation, consent of directors with signatures, certificate of inspectors, minutes of regular meetings of directors (August 1930-June 1931), list of members, correspondence, and treasurer's reports.

Book 4:  Minutes of the Regular Meeting of Directors October 1931-May 1944

Includes typed regular meetings of directors with signatures, list of new members, and treasurer’s report.

Box 4: Bound Books: Scrapbooks and Robert W. King Presidential File

Book 1:  “Scrapbook” November 1881-January 14, 1884

Contains New York Electrical Society Constitution, Correspondence (telegrams and letters), and document: “Proposed Formation of a New York Electrical Society February 1, 1881.”

Book 2:  “Scrapbook” January 16, 1884-November 24, 1900

Contains typed synopsis of lectures, correspondence from newly elected members, and newspaper clippings.

[Note letter dated March 14, 1884 from E. L. Bradley to Secretary A. A. Knudson regarding Room 24 at The Cooper Institute].

Book 3:  “Scrapbook” 1903-1923

Contains various items pasted into bound book:  Annual Meeting and general programs, correspon-dence, and newspaper clippings; also Library of Congress official note of deposit of New York Electrical Society Transactions.

Book 4:  Scrapbook 1942-1948

Original New York Electrical Society fliers, programs from Science Forum, blank application for membership, NYES elections ballot, and NYES membership pin.

Book 5:  New York Electrical Society Presidential File of Robert W. King, 1939-1940   

“Dr. King's file as President of NYES 1939-1940” from E. D. McLauglin to Mr. P. M. Neave, Secretary of The NYES.  Contains meeting notices, meeting correspondence, personal papers, financial matters, American Engineering Council, correspondence, booklet: New York Electrical Society founded 1881, World's Fair Exhibit correspondence.

Box 5: Oversize Books, Each Describing a Meeting of the Society, October 10, 1928 - April 3, 1929.

Box dimensions:  13 ½” x 20 ½”

Oversize Book 1:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, October 10, 1928

Topic:  “Neon Lights”  “Demonstrations of why the rays of neon aircraft beacons penetrate fog; of how neon, argon, and other rare gases are frozen out of air to make vari-colored glowing signs; of why electrons make these gases glow.”

Speaker: E. E. Free, Ph.D., New York University

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.  

Also includes 6 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. E. N. Grisewood -- inventor of the means of producing the spectrum of any one of the rare gases glowing under electric excitation,

Dr. E. E. Free demonstrating a fog-piercing beacon for planes or ships,

Dr. E. E. Free on stage operating a Tesla Coil,

Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrating how a glow tube behaves when an electric current is passes through it and a rare gas substituted for the air,

Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrates that a bulb of neon or other gas can be made to glow merely by placing it in the field of the coil,

Dr. E. E. Free demonstrating a neon beacon, made by the Cooper-Hewitt Electric Company, which is operated by induced current.


Oversize Book 2:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, November 7, 1928

Topic:  “Lightning”  “How electrical effects requiring less than one ten-thousandths of a second are investigated.  Effects of lightning transients on actual service transmission lines in the Tennessee mountains.  Protection of super power plants from lightning.”

Speaker: A. L. Atherton, Westinghouse Electric & Manufacturing Company.

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 W. 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.

Also includes 3 black-and-white photographs:

L. Atherton demonstrating principle of fluorescence,

Dr. C. M. Slacks holding the Leonard Ray tube

Leonard Ray tube causing minerals to fluoresce by cathode Ray bombardment.


Oversize Book 3:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, December 12, 1928

Topic:  “Cold At Home”  “How the new gas and electric household refrigerators operate.  Working models.  Experiments with super-cold liquid air.”

Speaker: Stephen Bennis-Power Engineer, United Electric Light and Power Company, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.

Includes 3 black-and-white photographs of home refrigerators demonstrated at the meeting.


Oversize Book 4:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, January 9, 1929

Topic:  “Scientific Conquests of 1928”

Speaker: Dr. H. H. Sheldon, Chairman of the Department of Physics, Washington Square College, New York University

Book contains: flier, press release of event, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.

Also included 5 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. H. H. Sheldon and a 10 Kilowatt incandescent electric bulb,        

Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrates a burglary alarm which sounds a Klaxon horn,

Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrates how a battery of lights can be made to light up by the glow of a match,

Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrates a train which obeys its master's voice,

Dr. Phillips Thomas and Dr. H. H. Sheldon demonstrate automatic traffic control by means of a photo-electric cell.

Oversize Book 5:  Joint Meeting of the New York Electrical Society and the New York Section of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers Meeting, February 6, 1929

Topic:  “National Broadcasting”  “Radio broadcasting has, in the brief time since the war, developed from a laboratory experiment to one of the major industries of the United States.”

Speaker: M. H. Aylesworth-President, National Broadcasting Company, Inc.

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 W. 39th Street, New York, NY
Book contains: flier, press release of event, negative copy of cover, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.

Oversize Book 6:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, March 6, 1929

Topic:  “Are X-Rays Useful”  “X-rays, uncovered in the physical laboratory, are growing to be most useful tools in medicine, industry, and science.  Dr. Richtmyer’s demonstrations will include X-ray movies of the human interior; making the air carry electricity; discovering the arrangement of atoms inside metals, gems and crystals; and finding concealed defects in Engineering Materials.”

Speaker: Dr. F. K. Richtmyer, Professor of Physics, Cornell University

Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y. E. S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings that announced or covered the meeting.

Also includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. F. K. Richtmyer demonstrating passing electricity through air,

Dr. T. A. Wilson demonstrating use of his diffraction apparatus,

Dr. Richtmyer charging and electroscope by means of a rubber stick which is rubbed by a cat's fur,

Mr. E. L. Trout demonstrates taking a radiograph of a woman's teeth.


Oversize Book 7:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, April 3, 1929

Topic: “The Battle Against Noise”   “The character and cause of city noise, how noise hinders business, less noisy homes, noise transmission through walls, a new measuring instrument for auditorium acoustics, acoustic forecasts from building plans...”

Speaker: R. F. Norris, Acoustic Engineer, C. F. Burgess Laboratories, Inc., Madison, Wisconsin.

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: copy of pages of bound book,  flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (numbers of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Also includes 6 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. C. A. Andree studying lecture room acoustics,

Dr. R. F. Norris with chart of 34th Street and Broadway, a noisy corner,

R. F. Norris predicting echoes in an auditorium,

R. F. Norris finds sound vibrations in a human skull,

R. F. Norris and C. A. Andree reducing reverberations to mathematical measurements,

Dr. Andree removing the muffler from an engine.

Box 6: Oversize Books, Each Describing a Meeting of the Society, May 2, 1929 – December 11, 1929

Box dimensions:  13 ½” x 20 ½”


Oversize Book 8:  New York Electrical Society Annual Site Visit, May 2, 1929

“Inspection of the John A. Roebling's Sons Co. Wire and Wire Rope Factory at Trenton, NJ and Roebling, NJ”

Book contains: annual visit pamphlet, list of newspapers that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.  One article includes 4 images of trip: “John A. Roebling's Sons Company's Vast Wire Plant Thrown Open to the New York Electrical Society; See Hudson River Bridge Cables Made and Tested,” from Telegraph and Telephone Age, No. 10 (May 16, 1929).

Also included:  2 black-and-white photographs of the visit to Roebling’s wire factory.

Oversize Book 9:  New York Electrical Society Annual Meeting, June 13, 1929

Topic: “Ultra-Violet Light Writes Its Own Signature”

Speaker: Dr. Harvey C. Rentschler, Director of Research, Westinghouse Lamp Co., Bloomfield, NJ

Location: Westinghouse Lighting Institute, Grand Central Palace, 46th Street and Lexington Avenue

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. Harvey C. Rentschler-President of the New York Electrical Society pointing to the antirichitic [preventing the development of rickets] band in the  UV spectrum,Dr. Rentschler and the first UV Ray yardstick

Dr. Rentschler's assistant employing the popular toy “Sandy Andy” to illustrate the principle of his new uranium photo-electric cell ultra-violet ray dosage meter,

The President-elect (Dr. Rentschler) and the Retiring President (E. E. Dorting) study UV radiations.

Oversize Book 10:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, October 16, 1929

Topic: “The World's Greatest Suspension Bridge” [The George Washington Bridge] “Supporting a thorough fare the width of Fifth Avenue over a clear span of five-eighths of a mile-the roadway as high above the water as the top of Brooklyn Bridge towers -- with four supporting cables containing more than 106,000 miles of cable-wire – the Hudson River Bridge rises as one of the greatest engineering feats of the day.  Mr. Stearns will discuss briefly and in popular manner the construction problems met in this gigantic task (motion pictures will be shown, as well as several unusual construction models).”

Speaker: Edward W. Stearns, Assistant to the Chief Engineer of Bridges, Port of New York Authority, New York

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting, and pamphlet: New York Electrical Society Visit to the Hudson River Bridge, October 31, 1929.  [later renamed the George Washington Bridge].

Also includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

Mr. Stearns points to on the model one of a systems of underground passes which will permit the handling of traffic with no left turns across traffic,

Mr. Stearns with cross sections of The Hudson River Bridge cable and The Brooklyn Bridge cable,

Mr. Stearns with model, demonstrating how traffic can be brought in from several sources, or carried off from more than one lane to one of several streets, without using a left turn,

Mr. Stearns and his model of the New York approach of The Hudson River Bridge.

Oversize Book 11:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, November 6, 1929

Topic: “Super-Speeded Speech”   “In his studies on the transmission of sound over a light beam, Mr. Taylor has uncovered some unusual characteristics of speech speeded up to 3 or 4 times normal...”

Speaker: John Bellamy Taylor, Consulting Engineer, General Electric Company, Schenectady, New York

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Also includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

John Bellamy Taylor demonstrates that light beams serve as well as wires to transmit sound,

John Bellamy Taylor and apparatus for transmitting sound over light waves,

John Bellamy Taylor demonstrates the apparatus for making a motion picture film sound track simultaneously visible and audible,

John Bellamy Taylor with his super-speeded speech apparatus.

Oversize Book 12:  New York Electrical Society Meeting, December 11, 1929

Topic: “The Magic of Modern Chemistry”

Speaker: W. C. MacTavish, Professor of Chemistry, Washington Square College, NYU

Location: Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. H. M. Partridge and his automatic apparatus,

Dr. J. B. Niederl and his modification on a bulky approach,

Professor W. C. MacTavish puts inert nitrogen to work,

Dr. J. Benedett-Pichler using the Zeiss micro-projector.

Box 7: Oversize Books, Each Describing a Meeting of the Society, January 8, 1930 – October 16, 1930

Box dimensions:  13 ½” x 20 ½”


Oversize Book 13:  New York Electrical Society Science Forum Meeting, January 8, 1930

Topic: “Scientific Conquests of 1929”  “Basing his discussion on the important advances in various branches of science for the year, Dr. Heyl will show where these steps fit into the trends of the past and where they may lead us into the future.”

Speaker: Dr. Paul R. Heyl, Physicist, in Charge of Acoustic Work, Sound Laboratory, Bureau of Standards, Washington, D.C.

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: copy of pages of bound book, flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Includes 4 black-and-white photographs:

Speaker with scale showing the small relative position of visible radiations (the luminous band) in the vast range of all cosmic ones, from ultra-short cosmic rays to the long radio waves,

Dr. Heyl explains to Dr. Harvey C. Rentschler the workings of the dosage meter for ultra-violet rays,

Dr. Heyl explains The Theremin, as demonstrated by Mlle. Stepanov,

A light meter for movie studios is demonstrated by an unidentified assistant.

Oversize Book 14:  New York Electrical Society Science Forum, February 13, 1930,

Joint meeting with the New York Section, American Institute of Electrical Engineering,

Topic: “What Electricity Is Not”

Speaker:  Professor Vladimir Karapetoff, Professor of Electrical Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.  Includes article by Vladmir Karapetoff with portrait, “The Electron and Beyond in Electronics,” April 1913).

 Oversize Book 15:  New York Electrical Society Science Forum, April 10, 1930,

jointly sponsored by the American Institute of the City of New York, Museums of the Peaceful Arts, and the New York Electrical Society.

Topic: “Recent Advances in Our Knowledge of the Universe Around Us”  

“... he will discuss the existing evidence for the trans-mutability of the elements and will outline recent experiments bearing on the theory that somewhere in the universe atomic up-building as well as atomic annihilation may be going on.”

Speaker: Dr. Robert A. Millikan, Director, Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA

Introduced by Professor Karl T. Compton, Professor of Physics, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ (President-elect, Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Location:  Engineering Auditorium, 29 West 39th Street, New York, NY

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), list of newspaper that were sent publicity statements, and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Oversize Book 16:  New York Electrical Society Science Forum Meeting, June 5, 1930

Topic: “Matched Colors that do not Match: First Public Demonstration of the Colorscope”

Speaker: Dr. H. H. Sheldon, Professor of Physics, Washington Square College, New York University

“Dr. H. H. Sheldon, nominee for President of the New York Electrical Society and Dr. W. A. Schneider, Associate Professor of Physics at Washington Square College, NYU have developed together a color-matching device which will register instantly variations in color impossible to detect with the human eye.  It is not a color analyzer, but rather an instrument for use in matching materials, dyes, etc.”

Book contains: flier, press release of event, list of N.Y.E.S. poster distribution (number of copies, names, and addresses), and newspaper clippings which announced or covered the meeting.

Includes 2 black-and-white photographs:

Dr. H. H. Sheldon and Dr. W. A. Schneider with the commercial model of the “Colorscope,”

Sheldon and Schneider with laboratory model of the “Colorscope.”

Oversize Book 17:  New York Electrical Society Science Forum Meeting, October 16, 1930

Topic: “Cell Surgery”

Speaker: Dr. H. J. Fry, Professor of Biology, New York University

“This will be the first public presentation of micro-moving pictures showing how single cells may be operated upon under high magnifications of the microscope.”

Book contains: flier, press release of event, and newspaper clippings of announcements and reports of the meeting

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003