N -- Visual Arts.
NA -- Architecture.
NB -- Sculpture.
NC -- Drawing. Design. Illustration.
ND -- Painting.
NE -- Print media.
NK -- Decorative Arts.
NX -- Arts in general.
TR -- Photography
Z -- Typography
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed., 2008
Cooper Reference PN147 .G444 2008
MLA Handbook, 8th ed., 2016
Cooper Reference LB2369 .G53 2016 -- there is a circulating copy in the Main Collection. Earlier editions also circulate
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL):
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (offers basic information and examples of MLA formatting style according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook (2009) and the 3rd edition of the MLA Style Manual (2008); does not include the entire Manual or Handbook), Website last updated 9/12/2016
The CRAP Test
Ask yourself the following questions about each website you're considering:
Purpose / Point of View
Adapted from Dominican University
Recommended Search Strategy
Analyze your topic & search with peripheral vision
Critically Analyzing Information Sources
How to Find an Article (or Book) from a Citation
The basics of deciphering citations gathered from a bibliography or an article index.
Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals
Evaluating Websites: Criteria and Tools
Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
Citing Your Sources
Boolean logic is the use of the operators AND, OR, and NOT to combine terms in searching online databases.
When you separate two terms with the word AND, both words must appear in the results. This limits the numbers of results that you get. Most databases assume an AND between words in your search string.
When you separate two terms with the word OR, either word may appear in the results. This increases the numbers of results that you get. Most databases require you to indicate OR.
NOT eliminates the word that follows NOT in the search string. This will limit the number of results that you get.
I've included a link to a page created by the Columbia University Libraries. It has some visual examples that explain the differences.
Boolean Logic from Columbia University Libraries.
The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY