Skip to main content

Art Research

Remote Access to E-Resources at Cooper

To access restricted e-resources from off campus, you must be authenticated as an authorized user.  Usually, you will be prompted to enter the barcode number for your Library account (a 14 digit number on the back of your Cooper ID). If that doesn't work, stop by the Circulation Desk, call 212-353-4188, or send email to circulation@cooper.edu.

Common problems include:

  • Fines of $5 or more on the account. You can log in to your account to check on fines owed.
  • Students: Your account expires when you graduate or if you are not registered for classes in the current semester. Stop by the Circulation Desk each semester to verify that your account is up to date.
  • Faculty, staff, and administrators: Your account may expire if you have not used our Library in the current semester; or you may not yet have a Library account. Stop by the Circulation Desk to register for an account or to update your information.

Test out your barcode number here. If it works you'll see a list of restricted resources available from off campus.
 

Peer Review

Peer Review is a process ensures that articles published in a journal represent the best scholarship available.

When an article is submitted, the journal editors send it out to other scholars in the same field (i.e., the author's peers) to get their opinion on the quality and relevance to the field of study, and the appropriateness to the journal itself.

Most databases provide some way to distinguish whether the citation is to a peer-reviewed (or refereed) journal. It is often a check box or radio button.

Art & Architecture Source

Art & Architecture Source

Combines Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text from H.W. Wilson with other resources from EBSCO. Includes books, images, and journal articles. This database concentrates on art, architecture, moving images, and design resources.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: over 640 journals and more than 225 books.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-current
  • Number of current journal titles as of March, 2015: ~ 900. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.

Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective

Subjects covered: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box for Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals on the Search form.
  • Full text: None within this database. Follow SFX links to check access options.
  • Update frequency: Not applicable.
  • Coverage dates: 1929-1984.
  • Number of journal titles, excluding title changes, as of August 2, 2011: 557. View title list.
  • Access restrictions: Off Campus.

JSTOR

JSTOR Arts & Sciences III, V

Arts & Sciences III: journals in languages and literature, as well as essential titles in music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. Additional interdisciplinary titles broaden the scope of coverage in folklore, feminist & women's studies.

Arts & Sciences V: important literary reviews and state historical journals; widen the scope of core disciplines in the arts and humanities, such as philosophy, history, classics, religion, art and art history, and language and literature.

For more JSTOR, go to NYU (complete JSTOR) or The New School (Arts & Sciences I-V, VII).

PLEASE NOTE:

Most journals in JSTOR do not include any articles published within the last 3-5 years. This 'moving wall' is an embargo period between when a journal issue is published and when it appears in JSTOR.

JSTOR was designed as a digital archive, not a searching tool. Searching features are very limited compared to other databases available to you. There are no controlled terms for subjects, and only ~10% of articles include an abstract. 

For subject searching, it is better to use one of the other databases described in this section. Search results will show a link to JSTOR when needed to access a particular article.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile

Multidisciplinary resource containing thousands of references to journals and magazines; transcripts, audio and video of radio and television news; handbooks, factbooks, and reports. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more. There is some overlap with General OneFile.

  • Searching scholarly or peer-reviewed sources: Use the check box on the main search screen.
  • Full text: Much of the content includes full text. Follow SFX links to check other access options.
  • Update frequency: daily.
  • Coverage dates: 1980 to present.
  • Number of current journal titles, as of April 1, 2015: 16,791 indexed; 7,833 with full text; 7,062 full text with no embargo.
    View title list.
  • Access Restrictions: Off Campus.

Search Strategy Worksheet

This worksheet will help you think about your topic and formulate search queries.

It breaks down the process of defining and refining your search terms, and helps you visualize the Boolean operators you can use to connect those terms for optimal results.

As you gain more experience with this process, you will be able to formulate your searches with greater skill.

Access to Databases at NYU and The New School

Due to licensing restrictions you must be at those libraries in order to use their databases. If you are prompted to enter an NYU or New School NetID, then the link will not work from your current location.

You can browse listings of e-resources available on their websites:

NYU Databases A-Z

The New School Databases A-Z

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003