Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Remote Research Guide: Home

A guide to the information resources that Cooper Union students, faculty, and staff are able to access remotely.

Logging in for Remote Access

Databases, eBooks, and other Cooper Union library resources listed below are accessible both on and off campus. If you are accessing resources off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter the 14-digit barcode from the back of your Cooper ID. This number will begin with 21206-.

If you have any trouble, email library@cooper.edu and we'll gladly help you.

Online Databases

The Cooper Union library "Databases A-Z" lists databases alphabetically, but also allows you to search by subject, type, vendor, or via word search. Some of our most popular databases include:

EBooks

Several of our databases specialize in eBooks, including:

Library Catalog

eBooks are also in the library catalog. If you want to see only the available eBooks on a given subject, just enter your search term into the search bar, click the search button, then scroll down to the bottom of the left-hand column titled "Tweak my results." Under "Genre," select "electronic books."

 

 

 

 

 

If the book you need is in the catalog but only available at a consortium library and/or as a physical book, we can still usually figure out a way to get it to you. To request an item remotely, just fill out the item request form: library.cooper.edu/itemrequest/ 

Newspapers, Magazines & Journals

The Cooper Union library provides digital access to the following resources:

In addition, the library maintains a robust list of eJournals. Like the databases, these journals are organized alphabetically, but because there are so many it's often easiest to first search by subject or provider and narrow it down from there.

With a free digital NYPL card, you can also access newspapers.com (20,000+ newspaper titles) and PressReader (7,000+ newspapers and magazines in over 60 languages).

Digitized Collections

The Voices From the Great Hall website is a portal through which to access digitized sound and moving image recordings, photographs, press releases, announcements, and ephemera documenting events in the Great Hall at The Cooper Union from the 19th century to the present.

The Cooper Union Archives & Special Collections has begun digitizing materials and publishing them on the Internet Archive to assist our remote researchers. If you see something in the archives catalog and would like to put in a request for digitization, please email archives@cooper.edu.

In addition to the archival collections held by the library, the Architecture Archive in the Foundation Building has also digitized their Student Work Collection, and the Lubalin Center in 41 Cooper has scanned selections from their design and typography materials for their Flat File publication.

Other Resources

Consortium Libraries: Unfortunately, Cooper students, faculty and staff do not have off-site access to the digital resources of other libraries in our consortium. However, if you see something you want at one of these libraries, please reach out to us at library@cooper.edu and - we can almost always figure out a way to get resources to you!

New York Public Library: If you live, work or attend school in New York, you can apply online for a free digital library card from NYPL, granting you full access to their digital resources. Information on NYPL resources that are particularly useful for Cooper studies is available here: library.cooper.edu/nypl-digital

Library of Congress: The extensive digitized collections held by the Library of Congress are freely available, and include building surveys, newspapers, music, and photographs. www.loc.gov/collections/

Internet Archive: A non-profit all-digital library that offers free access to books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. archive.org/

Project Gutenberg: A library of over 60,000 free eBooks, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. www.gutenberg.org/

Digital Public Library of America: Over 44 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States, including eBooks, primary source sets, and online exhibitions. dp.la/ 

Open Textbook Library: Nearly 1000 textbooks, all free to use and distribute, and licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/

HathiTrust (Global Public Domain only): A partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Search and access fully viewable materials and download materials where there are no third-party restrictions. www.hathitrust.org/

ASK A LIBRARIAN

Need more assistance? Contact us via email (library.cooper.edu/contactus/) or live chat. We're here to help with all your remote research needs. 

FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003