Skip to main content

SS308 Public Policy in Contemporary America

Legal Information 

HeinOnline Academic 

HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Fastcase provides access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.

 

U.S. Government Information 

Congress.gov

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. 

Data.gov 

Data.gov provides data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Regulations.gov

Search all publicly available regulatory materials, e.g., trending regulations, public comments, supporting analyses, FR notices, and rules.

U.S. Government Information (govinfo.gov)

Public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

U.S. Census Bureau 

The nation’s leading provider of data about its people and economy.

U.S. Congressional Budget Office 

The CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.

U.S. Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports 

By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation. As a legislative branch agency within the Library of Congress, CRS has been a valued and respected resource on Capitol Hill for more than a century.

U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO) Reports 

GAO examines how taxpayer dollars are spent and provides Congress and federal agencies with objective, non-partisan, fact-based information to help the government save money and work more efficiently.

New York State Government 

New York State Information 

Access to New York State government offices, agencies, legislative and judicial bodies.   

International Government Information 

ESOC (Empirical Studies of Conflict) 

ESOC supports state-of-the art, independent social science research on topics ranging from counterterrorism and counterinsurgency to economic development and civil conflict. 

European Union 

Europa.eu is the official website of the European Union. It provides access to official documents, reports, statistics and open data. 

NationMaster 

NationMaster is a statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes. It covers a wide range of economic and demographic indicators across 300 industry verticals (agriculture, consumer goods, ICT, pharma…).

United Nations Digital Library 

Documents, votes, speeches, reports and other information published by the United Nations. 

UN Data 

Provides a unified access point to international statistics on "over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheet

Brief outline of U.S. relations with individual countries around the world from the U.S. State Department. 

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003