Skip to main content

SS308 Public Policy in Contemporary America

NYPL Card

If you don't have an New York Public Library (NYPL) card get one. It is an awesome thing to have. 

You can sign up online to receive an e-card, which will give you immediate access to NYPL online resources. 

Suggested NYPL Databases

Academic Search Premier 

A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.

Brill Online Books and Journals

Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.

Cambridge Core 

Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching.  Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015.  All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only.

De Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections

The Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections offers full text access to over 1,000 academic monographs published in 2019, from eight university presses: Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Harvard University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, University of Toronto Press, University of California Press, University of Pennsylvania Press. 

EconLit

This database covers international literature on economics. It includes more than 700 full-text journals; 15 full-text books, including "The Handbook of World Trade"; and complete indexing.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America.

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

Covers a variety of contemporary debated subjects to explore different viewpoints and develop critical thinking skills.  Material is divided into an alphabetical list of subjects (Topics) and concepts divided into categories (Perspectives), supported with articles, images, speeches, and other documentation. 

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints offers material to support differing views and help students develop critical thinking skills on thousands of current social topics in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites and multimedia. 

Oxford Handbooks Online 

The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archeaology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. 

ProQuest Research Library

Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. 

Sage Knowledge 

The full text and full catalog of Sage Publishing's social science ebook platform. 

University Press Scholarship Online 

University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses. 

Very Short Introductions 

The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic  subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003