Skip to Main Content

HSS4-D: Frantz Fanon

NYPL Card and Remote Access

If you don't have an New York Public Library (NYPL) card get one. Seriously. It is an awesome thing to have. 

You can sign up online to receive an e-card, which will give you immediate access to NYPL online resources from anywhere. Learn more.

Select List of NYPL Databases (Complete List)


Brill Online Books and Journals

Provides full-text access to scholarly journals and book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.

Cambridge Core 

Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching.  Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015.  All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only.

De Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections

The Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections offers full text access to over 1,000 academic monographs published in 2019, from eight university presses: Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Harvard University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, University of Toronto Press, University of California Press, University of Pennsylvania Press. 

Ethnic NewsWatch

Designed to provide the other side of the story, this database offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1959. 

Humanities International Complete

This database includes all data from Humanities International Index™ (more than 2,200 journals and 2.8 million records) plus unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases. 

JSTOR

A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields.

Oxford Art Online 

Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access the vast content of Grove Art Online, The  Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms all in one interface. 

Oxford Handbooks Online 

The full collection of Oxford Handbook series, which provides peer-reviewed research articles from scholars in the field of archeaology, business & management, classical studies, criminology & criminal justice, economics & finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political science, psychology, and religion. 

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

OSEO provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of major works from the humanities. 

Philosopher's Index with Full Text (on-site access only)

Indexing, abstracting, and full text of the literature on epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, law, religion and science from periodicals, monographs, and other documents.

Project Muse

Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. 

ProQuest Research Library

Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles.

Sage Knowledge 

The full text and full catalog of the Sage Publishing social science ebook platform. 

University Press Scholarship Online 

University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs in 21 subject areas covering the humanities, social sciences, medicine, and law from six leading university presses. 

Very Short Introductions 

The full text of the entire catalog of Oxford University Press's Very Short Introductions series. The books in this platform offer concise overviews to a range of academic  subjects in the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences.

World History in Context 

From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history. 

Print Page
FOLLOW US Facebook Instagram Twitter

The Cooper Union Library
7 E 7th St.
New York, NY
10003